Author Topic: Using Proof of Waste for Account Registration  (Read 13841 times)

Offline Shentist

• Board Moderator
    • View Profile
    • metaexchange
  • BitShares: shentist
just charge the spammers. the delegates need the fees and maybe we need in the future machine accounts.

i would set up different ways to register

1. pay 5 BTS to register your account
2. take your time and make some chapta or twitter, facebook registration

two simple solutions

Offline Riverhead

A reminder of the dangers of PoW in a client. Clearly not really the same thing but to the law the distinction may not be clear or important.

http://www.wired.com/2014/09/mit-students-face-aggressive-subpoena-demanding-source-code-bitcoin-mining-tool/

TurkeyLeg

For the record - I am not technically savvy regarding most of this stuff...but...I created my E-Trade account in about 10 minutes, it cost me nothing, and it is was very easy to link my fiat checking account and deposit funds...no registration required...similar experience with PayPal...the most time consuming part was verifying my checking account with PayPal and even that was fairly user friendly...I understand there are some technical requirements of the blockchain to ensure security and efficiency...however, we need to keep in mind that account registration needs to be as simple and painless as possible...and as similar to various fiat account creations as possible...if we are interested in attracting the outside world...which we better be.
« Last Edit: November 07, 2014, 01:33:35 pm by TurkeyLeg »

Offline gamey

• View Profile
The format of the address is not the problem, or at least i don't believe so.  People don't look at the # on the checkbook and say "oh my that is ugly!"

It is all a matter of framing it into a concept people already understand.  "Address" works, but it is a tad abstract.