Author Topic: Why I am an Austrian Economist [BLOG POST]  (Read 8099 times)

Offline jae208

• View Profile
Sorry, it wasn't meant to be rude or negative towards you personally.

No problem.

It was meant to convey, as one meaning, that violence and coercion are now at an evolutionary dead end. There is an evolving part of life on earth, humanity, and there is an evolving part of humanity - those willing to forgo violence and coercion in attempting consensus.

I really wish I could believe that. I really do. Unfortunately I do not.

And I do recognize that statistics show that violent crime has gone down over the years. But I don't believe that is because of any innate biological changes in humanity via evolution, but because of the way our civilization has changed and been structured. And I am hopeful that this trend will continue, but I believe severe violence would return if some of these structures were removed from our society. Thus, I am incredibly cautious and skeptical regarding arguments that favor radically changing some of these basic structures with the noble intent of reducing violence and coercion further.

+5%
http://bitsharestutorials.com A work in progress
Subscribe to the Youtube Channel
https://www.youtube.com/user/BitsharesTutorials

Offline onceuponatime

OK, here's another feeble attempt at a poetic response:

Either the meek will  inherit the earth - or cockroaches will.

Oh, thanks, now your previous quote clicked.

Yes, it seems every day as technology improves, humanity's existential risk increases. This scares me.

Can human culture change in the right direction and fast enough to act as a counterbalancing force to this effect? I don't know, but I hope so.

Can bitshares be in place fast enough to mitigate some of the suffering from the world-wide fiat collapse? I don't know, but I hope so.

Offline arhag

• View Profile
    • My posts on Steem
  • BitShares: arhag
  • GitHub: arhag

Oh, thanks, now your previous quote clicked.