Author Topic: Non-Profit DACs?  (Read 6963 times)

Offline bytemaster

I like the idea of a non profit DAC.
But it raises some questions: What is profit? Where's the profit in Bitcoin as a DAC?

I am a newbie, but if I get things right, the transaction fees are the profit.

When all the bitcoins will have been mined, miners will still run the whole bitcoin service, because they get the transaction fees (profit) as a reward.

Miners are share holders, they consume the entire profit in electric costs.  If a cheaper solution could be found then share holders can profit rather than paying out to a centralized cartel of miners.
For the latest updates checkout my blog: http://bytemaster.bitshares.org
Anything said on these forums does not constitute an intent to create a legal obligation or contract between myself and anyone else.   These are merely my opinions and I reserve the right to change them at any time.

Offline isza

• View Profile
But it raises some questions: What is profit? Where's the profit in Bitcoin as a DAC?

I am a newbie, but if I get things right, the transaction fees are the profit.

When all the bitcoins will have been mined, miners will still run the whole bitcoin service, because they get the transaction fees (profit) as a reward.

Offline isza

• View Profile
If I wanted to make a 'free' message sending service where the users must do complex calculations (mine) to send messages, it wouldn't be free because the calculation costs money.

So let's say there is a messaging service that has a fee, and someone makes a copy with zero fee, it wouldn't become popular, because the people who want to send messages don't want to tackle with getting the mining equipment, they would rather pay for it.

I think I am starting to understand it now.