Author Topic: Staff Meeting Notes - Monday, March 23, 2015  (Read 7589 times)

Offline Stan

• You need to think BIGGER, Pinky...
    • View Profile
    • Cryptonomex
  • BitShares: Stan
not quite sure why this is worth a  +5%orgasm...  Basically all thats being said is that there are still people working on bitshares.  Big deal, thats what they should be doing.

Some ETA's would be nice to have... is this stuff all a pipe dream, or is there an actual target date to aim for?

https://github.com/BitShares/bitshares/milestones
ETAs are:
0.9.0 = March 25. 
0.10.0 = April 1 
0.11.0 = April 8
come on
Do not believe this schedule,they can change it anytime.

Yea, it's more frustrating than anything to watch the milestones. All they ever do is get pushed back, past due, pushed back, past due, rinse and repeat. Some realistic ETA's would be nice.

Software development can be extremely difficult to estimate.  I work in the industry and know first hand that sometimes the most trivial items take *much* longer to troubleshoot than items thought to be huge undertakings, sometimes one item may require another item to be re-worked in order to achieve maximum efficiency, etc.  Sure, milestones can be changed or pushed back at anytime and I understand that could be frustrating but it's frustrating for the devs too and it's better to extend a deadline than implement an unstable version.  As far as the devs are concerned, the milestones listed are probably *very* realistic but sometimes shit happens and you have to roll with it.

Great points.  We put the times into github as aggressive targets for the engineers to shoot at.  (Keeps them away from the fooseball and air-hockey tables that way.)  We don't publish them as promises to demonstrate our prowess at estimating Mean Time To Breakthrough (MTTB) statistics.