Author [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Electrum for Memorycoin  (Read 4441 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Electrum for Memorycoin
« on: February 09, 2014, 10:17:38 PM »

Ths has never been done by any other cryptocurrency community before...

...and here it is!

That is right! Electrum (https://electrum.org/), a popular Bitcoin thin client, has been ported for Memorycoin! It is ultra secure, lightweight (no blockchain download), and user-friendly. It can be used as an offline wallet. I have been using it as my offline wallet!

DOWNLOAD:

Electrum Client: https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum/archive/master.zip
Electrum Server: https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum-server/archive/master.zip

MAC (curtosy of s4l1h:

http://www.memorycoin.org/downloads/electrum-mmc-macosx.dmg

GITHUB SOURCE:

Electrum Client: https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum
Electrum Server: https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum-server

If you would like to use electrum, all you need is the electrum client

Getting Started Tutorials: https://electrum.org/tutorials.html

Let me know of any problems on this thread

To run an electrum server, see the howto guide: https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum-server/blob/master/HOWTO.md

I have done my best to update documentation appropriately

Let me know of any problems.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2014, 01:20:55 PM by KillerByte »

Offline s4l1h

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2014, 12:14:16 AM »
Very good.

Offline ManeBjorn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2014, 12:42:16 AM »
Excellent work!
 :)
Tips Appreciated MMC | MQotia5NmKTsaXXPaN8hw2ze3Z1DNwi39s
https://www.multibet.io/index.php?ref=ManeBjorn

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2014, 02:02:05 AM »
Glad to hear people like it!

...but seriously, servers are needed. The instructions are on the first post.

Offline ManeBjorn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2014, 02:55:09 AM »
If I had a motherboard for my AMD Phenom X4 9750 I would do it.  The mainboard blew a couple weeks ago so I am down to my laptop.  I don't have the money to replace the MB right now.


Glad to hear people like it!

...but seriously, servers are needed. The instructions are on the first post.
Tips Appreciated MMC | MQotia5NmKTsaXXPaN8hw2ze3Z1DNwi39s
https://www.multibet.io/index.php?ref=ManeBjorn

Offline itsik78

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
    • View Profile
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2014, 08:47:03 AM »
Great job!!!
These are the things that could raise our coin's value.
I'll test it and start releasing some posts about it.

Offline reorder

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 400
    • View Profile
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2014, 01:50:08 AM »
By far the best that was ever done for the coin. Voted my first time.

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2014, 05:55:52 AM »
Thanks reorder!

At long last, we should have new nodes coming into existance for the wallet software hopefully by tomorrow. Emre has graciously provided 2 additional nodes, and BTChris has mentioned he will run a server node as well.

Nobody has reported any problems, which is good. The 2 nodes I run have been unbelievably stable. Free Trade unfortunately has not given the wallet a try yet, but I am sure he will give it some publicity eventually.

Offline FreeTrade

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 700
    • View Profile
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2014, 06:33:55 AM »
Yes, I'm very excited about it! I'm going to try it on Windows. :) Thanks KB, really excellent start to your CNOship!
“People should be more sophisticated? How are you gonna get that done?” - Jerry Seinfeld reply to Bill Maher

Offline bgaer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2014, 09:17:08 AM »
what are the suggested specs for a host machine?   I work for a major hosting company - so I get a very steep discount.  If it can run in a shared hosting environment its about $1 a month for high end shared hosting. 

Virtual and Dedicated are a bit more costly - but depending on bandwidth I am pretty sure I can get it to happen.

Just let me know what type of hardware/bandwidth is required - if it will run on a shared server I can spin up a few of them pretty quick.

Biran

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #10 on: February 12, 2014, 02:33:19 PM »
what are the suggested specs for a host machine?   I work for a major hosting company - so I get a very steep discount.  If it can run in a shared hosting environment its about $1 a month for high end shared hosting. 

Virtual and Dedicated are a bit more costly - but depending on bandwidth I am pretty sure I can get it to happen.

Just let me know what type of hardware/bandwidth is required - if it will run on a shared server I can spin up a few of them pretty quick.

Biran

all that is needed is to run the memorycoind daemon and a little bit of patience to set up really, all that it does is indexes all transactions and passes data along to the electrum clients.

just so long as you have a static IP and basic bandwidth (I have tested 1gb/s), you could run the server easily.

ALSO...

Default servers have been updated. Please update your clients. Your wallet money should not be impacted in any way

Offline barwizi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Noirbits, NoirShares, NoirEx.....lol, noir anyone?
    • View Profile
    • Noirbitstalk.org
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #11 on: February 12, 2014, 05:17:37 PM »
can anyone confirm that it is working?
--Bar--  PiNEJGUv4AZVZkLuF6hV4xwbYTRp5etWWJ

The magical land of crypto, no freebies people.

emre

  • Guest
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #12 on: February 12, 2014, 05:45:23 PM »
can anyone confirm that it is working?

I am using it, working like a charm.

thanks KB,

we have 5 nodes right now, please considering your spare servers for additional electrum nodes.

Offline BTChris

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #13 on: February 12, 2014, 11:13:08 PM »
ELECTRUM ON WINDOWS

1) open setup.py with text editor and change line 18 from
Code: [Select]
usr_share = '/usr/share'to
Code: [Select]
usr_share = 'C:\Users\<YOUR USER NAME>\AppData\Roaming\Electrum-MMC'
2) Download & install python

3) open cmd line and go to your electrum directory

4) Depending on where your python is installed, execute 
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\python.exe .\setup.py install
5) Download PyQT4 from http://www.riverbankcomputing.co.uk/software/pyqt/download
Select the correct PyQt4 Download based on your installed python version! 32 vs 64 Bit is based on your python version, not OS!

6) Install PyQt4; on "choose components" screen, select at least "Qt runtime" and "developer tools"

7) open cmd line and go to your electrum directory

8 ) Depending on where your python is installed, execute 
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\Lib\site-packages\PyQt4\pyrcc4.exe icons.qrc -o gui/qt/icons_rc.py
9) Start Electrum GUI with
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\python.exe .\electrum

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Re: Electrum for Memorycoin
« Reply #14 on: February 13, 2014, 03:00:46 AM »
ELECTRUM ON WINDOWS

1) open setup.py with text editor and change line 18 from
Code: [Select]
usr_share = '/usr/share'to
Code: [Select]
usr_share = 'C:\Users\<YOUR USER NAME>\AppData\Roaming\Electrum-MMC'
2) Download & install python

3) open cmd line and go to your electrum directory

4) Depending on where your python is installed, execute 
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\python.exe .\setup.py install
5) Download PyQT4 from http://www.riverbankcomputing.co.uk/software/pyqt/download
Select the correct PyQt4 Download based on your installed python version! 32 vs 64 Bit is based on your python version, not OS!

6) Install PyQt4; on "choose components" screen, select at least "Qt runtime" and "developer tools"

7) open cmd line and go to your electrum directory

8 ) Depending on where your python is installed, execute 
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\Lib\site-packages\PyQt4\pyrcc4.exe icons.qrc -o gui/qt/icons_rc.py
9) Start Electrum GUI with
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\python.exe .\electrum

Hey, is it possible if someone with a little technical background, after getting this to work, could use the py2exe application (http://py2exe.org/) to simplify all this into a single, standalone executabe? Like they have on the original electrum download page.

I will hold off on updating the instructions until we know for sure.

Thanks BTChris for the detailed instructions, which I am not good at :)

 

Google+