Author Topic: How are bid collisions resolved?  (Read 2644 times)

Offline bytemaster

It's all about transaction fees. Miners pick the transactions anyway ("oops I didn't see your bid!").

How much of any transaction is visible to miners?.. If there is anything visible ahead of their selecting it, how is this not a liability allowing evil miner to manipulate markets to their advantage??.. I'm no expert when it comes to what already exists as playing financial markets but I can imagine giving priority to ones own transactions could leverage quite a gain on any fluid market, it would be an invisible pump and dump; the miner would just be more efficient and gets confirmations - not quite HFT but similar outcome.

There is only one way a price can go: up. 

I suppose you could watch the network... see a bid for X... mine a block with your bid for less than X... then have the bid for X come in.   From the perspective of the user who made the bid for X... their costs are the same.   From the perspective of the prior bidder...they lose some profit.   From the perspective of the network it is the same.   

For the latest updates checkout my blog: http://bytemaster.bitshares.org
Anything said on these forums does not constitute an intent to create a legal obligation or contract between myself and anyone else.   These are merely my opinions and I reserve the right to change them at any time.

Offline toast

• View Profile
  • BitShares: nikolai