Author Topic: Proof of Ownership?  (Read 1136 times)

Offline mccoyspace

• View Profile
check out
http://www.monegraph.com/
http://monegraph.tumblr.com/

currently for digital media files/artworks, but applicable more broadly

Offline feedthemcake

• View Profile
Hope it's okay to start another topic here as this has been one of my other ideas regarding the blockchain.

How this thought started: Let's say I'm an artist (which I am) and I am selling my work in editions of 10 (which I do) and I'd like to provide someone with proof of ownership that's backed up by the blockchain. Wouldn't I be able to stamp/print onto artwork a QR code that could be embedded into the blockchain, and when a sale occurs, the transfer of ownership would be the "proof" you own it?
Problem: Would it be possible to forge a QR code and would the idea of having this transaction on the blockchain help with that? No one is forging my artwork now, but from what I know about the art world, the more exclusivity there is the better the price I can sell my pieces for. Anyhow...

I'm thinking this may even be more applicable to a car or something. Rather than just serial number, you could print the QR code and provide a transaction of ownership from dealer to new owner, this could in turn speed up the registration process at the DMV and all that as scanning the code takes seconds and can be done from anywhere. When a car is stolen or whatever, you could even have a QR code on a license plate that the police could scan from in their vehicle and check for violations/being stolen/etc.