Author [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?  (Read 4623 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ahpigsy

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« on: November 18, 2013, 03:33:59 AM »

Is there any information online on how to do this. I see there's a backup function but no restore.  Noob.

Offline her0

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
    • View Profile
Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2013, 05:23:26 AM »
Is there any information online on how to do this. I see there's a backup function but no restore.  Noob.
I think you just need backup you private key .

Online fav

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4077
  • No Pain, No Gain
    • View Profile
    • BitShares 2.0 SmartCoin
  • BTS: fav
Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2013, 05:55:09 AM »
chain, wallet and additional data lies in %appdata%\protoshares if you use windows
« Last Edit: November 18, 2013, 06:28:28 AM by favdesu »
► How-to Buy BitShares: https://goo.gl/i9j2YZ

Offline Riverhead

Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2013, 03:37:21 PM »
Is there any information online on how to do this. I see there's a backup function but no restore.  Noob.

Technically you can dump your private key and write it down somewhere.  However all you really need to do is make sure to 1) encrypt your wallet and 2) make a copy of your wallet.dat file found in %AppData%/protoshares on Windows and ~/.protoshares on Linux.

The wallet.dat file is small and fits easily on usb sticks, SD cards, etc.  Make a few copies of it and keep them in different physical locations (home, work, etc.).

It is also important to understand that you should refresh this backup of your wallet.dat file at least every 99 transactions.  The reason for this is that the wallet starts out with a pool of 100 key pairs that are used for transactions that require new key pairs.  When you have burned through your pool of keys the wallet-qt client will create an additional 100 keys in the pool.  At this point you would need to refresh all your backups of your wallet.dat file so that the new transactions using these keys are backed up as well.

If you need to use your backup simply install the client somewhere and copy your wallet.dat back into the directory you backed it up from.  Once the block chain catches up you'll see all your transactions.

You can keep your wallet.dat file off line all the time and only drop it into a client data directory when you want to do a transaction.  It doesn't need to stay in sync with the network until you're ready to do a transaction.  None of my wallet.dat files with balances stay on a computer for more than the few minutes it takes to do a transaction.  Even the best hackers can't steal a file sitting on an SD card on a shelf  8).

Think of the wallet.dat file sort of like a SIM card for a cell phone.  It's the only thing that matters...the rest is just generic hardware/software.

« Last Edit: November 18, 2013, 03:41:02 PM by Riverhead »

Offline joele

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 466
    • View Profile
Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2013, 12:22:31 PM »
Encrypt your wallet with at least 15 chars of password (alphanumeric with special chars) in Setting -> Encrypt Wallet

Backup / print your private keys
Get the private key of each of your PTS address using command dumpprivkey <address>
To import private key to wallet importprivkey <privatekey>

Offline GoldTiger69

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2013, 04:47:06 AM »
Can a Linux-Qt client read a Windows-Qt client's wallet?

Offline Riverhead

Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2013, 12:38:41 PM »
Can a Linux-Qt client read a Windows-Qt client's wallet?

Yup.

Offline MrJeans

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 597
    • View Profile
  • BTS: mrjeans
Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2013, 11:07:21 PM »
I am using the windows PTSqt. How do I dump the private key?
Is this the private key that one would use when claiming shares one new DACs?
Or would I use the .dat file to obtain the new DAC shares?

Thanks

Offline Amazon

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 831
    • View Profile
    • Bitshares Forum
Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2013, 11:24:17 PM »
I am using the windows PTSqt. How do I dump the private key?
Is this the private key that one would use when claiming shares one new DACs?
Or would I use the .dat file to obtain the new DAC shares?

Thanks

The .dat file should be enough to claim your new DAC shares.

If you want to dump the privkey. Type "dumpprivkey PXXXXXXXXXX" in the windows QT debug window. Replace the PXXXXXX with your public key.
Forum Donation: PforumPLfVQXTi4QpQqKwoChXHkoHcxGuA

Offline cass

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4329
  • /(┬.┬)\
    • View Profile
Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #9 on: November 28, 2013, 12:26:56 AM »
Encrypt your wallet with at least 15 chars of password (alphanumeric with special chars) in Setting -> Encrypt Wallet
█║▌║║█  - - -  The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear  - - -  █║▌║║█

Offline Riverhead

Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2013, 01:50:35 AM »

Folks,

Please Google "change addresses" and understand them before backing up just your private key.

Offline MrJeans

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 597
    • View Profile
  • BTS: mrjeans
Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #11 on: November 28, 2013, 10:17:37 AM »
I am using the windows PTSqt. How do I dump the private key?
Is this the private key that one would use when claiming shares one new DACs?
Or would I use the .dat file to obtain the new DAC shares?

Thanks

The .dat file should be enough to claim your new DAC shares.

If you want to dump the privkey. Type "dumpprivkey PXXXXXXXXXX" in the windows QT debug window. Replace the PXXXXXX with your public key.

A little embarrassing... but how to I find the public key.

Offline Knox500

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2013, 10:14:56 AM »
Encrypt your wallet with at least 15 chars of password (alphanumeric with special chars) in Setting -> Encrypt Wallet

Backup / print your private keys
Get the private key of each of your PTS address using command dumpprivkey <address>
To import private key to wallet importprivkey <privatekey>

Hi there,


Where on the client does one use those commands?  Cant mess this up.  Are you talkng about the console?  Sorry Im really computer dumb but love PTS, thanks...


Offline Knox500

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2013, 10:19:23 AM »
Is there any information online on how to do this. I see there's a backup function but no restore.  Noob.

Technically you can dump your private key and write it down somewhere.  However all you really need to do is make sure to 1) encrypt your wallet and 2) make a copy of your wallet.dat file found in %AppData%/protoshares on Windows and ~/.protoshares on Linux.

The wallet.dat file is small and fits easily on usb sticks, SD cards, etc.  Make a few copies of it and keep them in different physical locations (home, work, etc.).

It is also important to understand that you should refresh this backup of your wallet.dat file at least every 99 transactions.  The reason for this is that the wallet starts out with a pool of 100 key pairs that are used for transactions that require new key pairs.  When you have burned through your pool of keys the wallet-qt client will create an additional 100 keys in the pool.  At this point you would need to refresh all your backups of your wallet.dat file so that the new transactions using these keys are backed up as well.

If you need to use your backup simply install the client somewhere and copy your wallet.dat back into the directory you backed it up from.  Once the block chain catches up you'll see all your transactions.

You can keep your wallet.dat file off line all the time and only drop it into a client data directory when you want to do a transaction.  It doesn't need to stay in sync with the network until you're ready to do a transaction.  None of my wallet.dat files with balances stay on a computer for more than the few minutes it takes to do a transaction.  Even the best hackers can't steal a file sitting on an SD card on a shelf  8).

Think of the wallet.dat file sort of like a SIM card for a cell phone.  It's the only thing that matters...the rest is just generic hardware/software.

I encrypted the wallet and changed the file name.  Where does one find the directory on the client?  Are you talking about the console?  Im trying to understand this, "wallet.dat back into the directory you backed it up from".  Thank you.

Offline MrJeans

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 597
    • View Profile
  • BTS: mrjeans
Re: How to backup and restore Protoshares-qt wallet?
« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2013, 11:07:59 AM »
Encrypt your wallet with at least 15 chars of password (alphanumeric with special chars) in Setting -> Encrypt Wallet

Backup / print your private keys
Get the private key of each of your PTS address using command dumpprivkey <address>
To import private key to wallet importprivkey <privatekey>

Hi there,


Where on the client does one use those commands?  Cant mess this up.  Are you talkng about the console?  Sorry Im really computer dumb but love PTS, thanks...

So you would type the commands in the debug window (on the client). You can open the debug window by opening the client, then clicking on 'help' then 'debug window'. Type in the commands and press enter to let them execute.

As a fellow newbie I would say that you need to be very sure of what you doing before using the debug window.
I would follow the advice of Riverhead above.

 

Google+