Author Topic: BitShares X 0.4.15 Mandatoty Update  (Read 6916 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Xeldal

  • Guest
Yeah, I've completely rebuilt the server 3 times now with the same issues.  Its got me baffled.  Thanks for looking at it. :)

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12922
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
oh .. then maybe you should delete the database with your old peers ..
  rm -rf .BitSharesX/peers.leveldb/
and let the client fetch new peers from the seed nodes ..

besides that I have no clue :-(

Xeldal

  • Guest
right. I don't use this wallet for anything but the delegate.

How else can you produce blocks without setting block production true. 

Maybe I'm not understanding what your saying.
once you have an active delegate that produces blocks ... the wallet does not scan incoming transaction weather they are intended for you or not .. so if you wanted to "trade" or "transfer" funds from within that wallet you will certainly fail seeing it in the transaction history .. as a result the funds seem lost/not transfered ...

isn't that the issue you are having?

If you really want to use the wallet as a regular user (non-delegate) .. you should not have a delegate imported and should also therefor not habe block production enabled ... then everything should work as intended

All the other issues I'm having are with a separate wallet.  Widows gui v0.4.15a.  completely separate. different machines etc.  I'm only speaking about the Ubuntu 14.04 VPS delegate wallet here. : )

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12922
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
right. I don't use this wallet for anything but the delegate.

How else can you produce blocks without setting block production true. 

Maybe I'm not understanding what your saying.
once you have an active delegate that produces blocks ... the wallet does not scan incoming transaction weather they are intended for you or not .. so if you wanted to "trade" or "transfer" funds from within that wallet you will certainly fail seeing it in the transaction history .. as a result the funds seem lost/not transfered ...

isn't that the issue you are having?

If you really want to use the wallet as a regular user (non-delegate) .. you should not have a delegate imported and should also therefor not habe block production enabled ... then everything should work as intended

Xeldal

  • Guest
right. I don't use this wallet for anything but the delegate.

How else can you produce blocks without setting block production true. 

Maybe I'm not understanding what your saying.


Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12922
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
GOTCHA:
Code: [Select]

******** Lock old VPS wallet

wallet_delegate_set_block_production delegate.xeldal true

the wallet is NOT parsing transactions when you have an active delegate / ie block production enabled.

delegate wallets are NOT meant to be 'for-use'!!!


Either you run a second wallet independently or you enable transaction scanning by hand
wallet_set_transaction_scanning treu


@running via root .. that's only an issue if you didn't trust DSL or I3 .. because they could introduce malware easily if you run the wallet as root ..
it will work as regular user also
« Last Edit: September 15, 2014, 04:30:47 pm by xeroc »

Xeldal

  • Guest
I initially was running v0.4.15a but I was getting both the loss of all connections as well as random missed blocks so I decided to try going back to v0.4.15 but I got the loss of connections there as well.

With the latest build I've done nothing unusual.  Here is my process. I run a DO VPS 4GB RAM
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install cmake git libreadline-dev uuid-dev g++ libdb++-dev libdb-dev zip libssl-dev openssl build-essential python-dev autotools-dev libicu-dev libbz2-dev libboost-dev libboost-all-dev ntp

git clone https://github.com/dacsunlimited/bitsharesx.git
git clone https://github.com/Bitsuperlab/operation_tools.git
cd bitsharesx
git checkout v0.4.15

git submodule init
git submodule update
cmake .
make

cd ~/bitsharesx/programs/client
screen -S delegate

./bitshares_client --server --httpport 9989 --rpcuser user --rpcpassword pass


******** wait for chain to sync

wallet_create xeldal

unlock 99999999

wallet_import_private_key xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


******** Lock old VPS wallet

wallet_delegate_set_block_production delegate.xeldal true

******** exit delegate screen (Ctrl + A + D)

screen -S feeds
cd ~/operation_tools/btsxfeed/
nano config.json.sample

******** edit with delegate info etc
******** save to config.json (F3)
******** exit nano (Ctrl X)

./btsx_feed_auto.py USD BTC CNY GLD

******** exit feeds screen (Ctrl + A + D)


for this most recent version I decided to not run the feeds to narrow down what could be causing the random connection loss and random missed block.  I still got the connection loss so that is not it.

Please let me know if there is anything you notice in this process that may lead to error.  It has worked flawlessly on prior versions.
I also limit the connections to 20 , this has seemed to help with these issues in the past.
Code: [Select]
network_set_advanced_node_parameters { "desired_number_of_connections": 20, "maximum_number_of_connections": 20 }
wow .. you are running this as ROOT?? not recommended!!
besides that it looks ok to me although your fc_revision_age looks rather 'old'

have you run "git submodule update" too? or are you running the windows binary?
I am fairly new to linux.  Can you explain how I would use something other than root? thanks.
Is it as simple as just loging in as anything else?
« Last Edit: September 15, 2014, 04:25:52 pm by Xeldal »

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12922
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
wow .. you are running this as ROOT?? not recommended!!
besides that it looks ok to me although your fc_revision_age looks rather 'old'

have you run "git submodule update" too? or are you running the windows binary?

Xeldal

  • Guest
Code: [Select]
"client_data_dir": "/root/.BitSharesX",
  "client_version": "v0.4.15",
  "network_num_connections": 15,
  "network_num_connections_max": 20,

Code: [Select]
xeldal (unlocked) >>> about
{
  "blockchain_name": "BitShares X",
  "blockchain_description": "Decentralized Autonomous Exchange",
  "client_version": "v0.4.15",
  "bitshares_toolkit_revision": "26ea35eb21d67763ade4d2344afced0d60f7fbd2",
  "bitshares_toolkit_revision_age": "38 hours ago",
  "fc_revision": "3ee5f756fbbb0bd115442eceac2273c060d6b21a",
  "fc_revision_age": "64 hours ago",
  "compile_date": "compiled on Sep 15 2014 at 09:41:21"
}

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12922
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
could you check with "getinfo" that you are REALLY running 0.4.15?

Xeldal

  • Guest
v0.4.15
Just lost all connections again
Code: [Select]
-- there are now 28 active connections to the p2p network
--- there are now 29 active connections to the p2p network
--- there are now 30 active connections to the p2p network
--- there are now 29 active connections to the p2p network
--- there are now 30 active connections to the p2p network
--- there are now 29 active connections to the p2p network
--- there are now 0 active connections to the p2p network
--- there are now 1 active connections to the p2p network
--- there are now 0 active connections to the p2p network
--- there are now 1 active connections to the p2p network

Offline Riverhead

Downloaded  0.4.15 x86.

For the first time Kaspersky did not flag it as 'potentially dangerous software'. I do not know if it because of the code itself, or because I have downloaded 14 of the 16 versions before that...


Or they finally added it to their safe list.

Offline tonyk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3308
    • View Profile
Downloaded  0.4.15 x86.

For the first time Kaspersky did not flag it as 'potentially dangerous software'. I do not know if it because of the code itself, or because I have downloaded 14 of the 16 versions before that...
Lack of arbitrage is the problem, isn't it. And this 'should' solves it.

Offline bitrose

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • ROSE
    • View Profile
    • rose
upgrated

x.ebit rose.ebit

 :D
« Last Edit: September 15, 2014, 08:04:35 am by bitrose »
Please Vote : x.ebit , rose.ebit
http://www.roseebit.com

Xeldal

  • Guest
0.4.15-a , missed another block, 17 - 19 connections. no idea.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2014, 12:52:29 am by Xeldal »

Offline svk

One of my delegates randomly missed a couple blocks too, hope 0.4.15 fixes this issue. Went from a perfect rating of 0 missed blocks in ~1500 produced to 5 missed with version 0.4.13.
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline kokojie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
updated 0.4.15, not sure why I missed 1 block, which made me sad.

Xeldal

  • Guest
v0.4.15-a linux VPS dropped all but 2 connections, missed blocks.

windows GUI v0.4.15-a is nearly completely unusable for me.  All text is misaligned and moves around on mouse over.  many fields are not even displaying until mouse over. 

Offline arubi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 209
    • View Profile
v0.4.15-a seems to be working well.
Transaction history can be seen in the gui.

I like the new help popup, very nice and non intrusive!

(ubuntu server 14.04.1 32bit)

Offline theoretical

I wish dacsunlimted would leave or at least make a note on github when they remove a version and replace it with another. It seems whenever they add the -a or -b it is a replaced version

v 0.4.15-a works fine on windows 7 64 bit.

You can just go here:  https://github.com/dacsunlimited/bitsharesx/releases

If you have an RSS reader, you can point it to https://github.com/dacsunlimited/bitsharesx/tags.atom and you will get a notification when a new release happens.

BTS- theoretical / PTS- PZxpdC8RqWsdU3pVJeobZY7JFKVPfNpy5z / BTC- 1NfGejohzoVGffAD1CnCRgo9vApjCU2viY / the delegate formerly known as drltc / Nothing said on these forums is intended to be legally binding / All opinions are my own unless otherwise noted / Take action due to my posts at your own risk

Offline Gentso1

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 931
    • View Profile
  • BitShares: gentso
Code: [Select]
:~/bitsharesx# git checkout 0.4.15
error: pathspec '0.4.15' did not match any file(s) known to git.

The correct name is v0.4.15-RC1.

hmm. I think this is replaced with v0.4.15, which is replaced by v0.4.15 patch-a

I don't know about the checkout tag for patch-a.  I assumed it was just v0.4.15 again?  Hard to know without explanation/direction.

This is what v0.4.15 post patch-a gives me.  I don't think i have the latest.
Code: [Select]
"blockchain_name": "BitShares X",
  "blockchain_description": "Decentralized Autonomous Exchange",
  "client_version": "v0.4.15",
  "bitshares_toolkit_revision": "26ea35eb21d67763ade4d2344afced0d60f7fbd2",
  "bitshares_toolkit_revision_age": "14 hours ago",
  "fc_revision": "3ee5f756fbbb0bd115442eceac2273c060d6b21a",
  "fc_revision_age": "40 hours ago",
  "compile_date": "compiled on Sep 14 2014 at 10:32:53"

EDIT:
v0.4.15-a   worked for me.
I wish dacsunlimted would leave or at least make a note on github when they remove a version and replace it with another. It seems whenever they add the -a or -b it is a replaced version

v 0.4.15-a works fine on windows 7 64 bit.

Xeldal

  • Guest
Code: [Select]
:~/bitsharesx# git checkout 0.4.15
error: pathspec '0.4.15' did not match any file(s) known to git.

The correct name is v0.4.15-RC1.

hmm. I think this is replaced with v0.4.15, which is replaced by v0.4.15 patch-a

I don't know about the checkout tag for patch-a.  I assumed it was just v0.4.15 again?  Hard to know without explanation/direction.

This is what v0.4.15 post patch-a gives me.  I don't think i have the latest.
Code: [Select]
"blockchain_name": "BitShares X",
  "blockchain_description": "Decentralized Autonomous Exchange",
  "client_version": "v0.4.15",
  "bitshares_toolkit_revision": "26ea35eb21d67763ade4d2344afced0d60f7fbd2",
  "bitshares_toolkit_revision_age": "14 hours ago",
  "fc_revision": "3ee5f756fbbb0bd115442eceac2273c060d6b21a",
  "fc_revision_age": "40 hours ago",
  "compile_date": "compiled on Sep 14 2014 at 10:32:53"

EDIT:
v0.4.15-a   worked for me.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2014, 03:49:27 pm by Xeldal »

Offline cube

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1404
  • Bit by bit, we will get there!
    • View Profile
  • BitShares: bitcube
Code: [Select]
:~/bitsharesx# git checkout 0.4.15
error: pathspec '0.4.15' did not match any file(s) known to git.

The correct name is v0.4.15-RC1.
ID: bitcube
bitcube is a dedicated witness and committe member. Please vote for bitcube.

Offline arubi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 209
    • View Profile
Code: [Select]
:~/bitsharesx# git checkout 0.4.15
error: pathspec '0.4.15' did not match any file(s) known to git.


The branch name is v0.4.15.


Don't forget to git pull first.

Xeldal

  • Guest
Code: [Select]
:~/bitsharesx# git checkout 0.4.15
error: pathspec '0.4.15' did not match any file(s) known to git.

Offline arubi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 209
    • View Profile
I tried rescan to recover the transactions in the gui, but nothing changed.
i'd call it display bug ...

go to "console" and type "wallet_account_transaction_history" ... you'll see your transactions
Exactly. The command line client shows the tx's. The GUI client doesn't, even after running wallet_account_transaction_history in the gui's console.


I'll wait for a bugfix.

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12922
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
I tried rescan to recover the transactions in the gui, but nothing changed.
i'd call it display bug ...

go to "console" and type "wallet_account_transaction_history" ... you'll see your transactions

Offline arubi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 209
    • View Profile
Ubuntu server 14.04.1 32bit.


Compiled and running with no errors.
Command line client shows correct balance and transaction history.


GUI wallet shows correct balance, but no transaction history.
At the lock screen, a message about a mandatory upgrade is appearing.
At the accounts section, the message "This account is not voting with some of its stake..." appears above all accounts with balance in them.


I tried rescan to recover the transactions in the gui, but nothing changed.

Offline Riverhead

This is the same as 0.4.15-RC1?

Offline testz

File not found in the download site because the filename is incorrect.
BitSharesX-v0.4.15-x86.exe

Windows version removed, probably will be updated soon: https://github.com/dacsunlimited/bitsharesx/releases/tag/v0.4.15

Offline joele

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 467
    • View Profile
File not found in the download site http://bitshares-x.info/ because the filename is incorrect.
BitSharesX-v0.4.15-x86.exe

« Last Edit: September 14, 2014, 08:27:40 am by joele »

Offline graffenwalder

After the reindex, at the log in screen it says:
There is a mandatory client update available at bitshares-x.info

Also my transaction history doesn't show.
Open orders do show.

Offline testz


Offline testz

Windows version not working.

Msvcr120d.dll missing

Edit: x64 version works

I can confirm, report the issue: https://github.com/BitShares/bitshares_toolkit/issues/772

Offline tonyk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3308
    • View Profile
Mandatory Update???

Absolutely:  ' Required upgrade by block 494000'


[edit] Are you trying to make my life harder than it is?

x.86 or x.64   ?????

How the fuck should I know that?


« Last Edit: September 14, 2014, 08:14:32 am by tonyk »
Lack of arbitrage is the problem, isn't it. And this 'should' solves it.

Offline king

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
BTSX Account: mister
BTSX Delegate :sun.delegate.service,moon.delegate.service

Offline graffenwalder

Windows version not working.

Msvcr120d.dll missing

Edit: x64 version works
« Last Edit: September 14, 2014, 08:01:50 am by Graffenwalder »

Offline testz

How about any problems/issues, thread?

Should everybody open new thread, whenever the window is too dark for his/her liking?

Best way it's to open issue here: https://github.com/BitShares/bitshares_toolkit/issues

But developers read the forum and grab the issues like this: https://github.com/BitShares/bitshares_toolkit/issues/771

Offline tonyk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3308
    • View Profile
How about any problems/issues, thread?

Should everybody open new thread, whenever the window is too dark for his/her liking?
Lack of arbitrage is the problem, isn't it. And this 'should' solves it.

Offline testz

...

https://github.com/dacsunlimited/bitsharesx/releases

Required upgrade by block #494000

Yes, mandatory, everybody should update until block #494000 (Monday).
Windows binary will be available soon.

Shouldn't be official thread for this?... or this one is good enough?

Already, please subscribe to this thread and you will know about all updates: https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php?topic=7067

Offline tonyk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3308
    • View Profile
...

https://github.com/dacsunlimited/bitsharesx/releases

Required upgrade by block #494000

Yes, mandatory, everybody should update until block #494000 (Monday).
Windows binary will be available soon.

Shouldn't be official thread for this?... or this one is good enough?
Lack of arbitrage is the problem, isn't it. And this 'should' solves it.

Offline testz

...

https://github.com/dacsunlimited/bitsharesx/releases

Required upgrade by block #494000

Yes, mandatory, everybody should update until block #494000 (Monday).
Windows binary will be available soon.

Offline tonyk

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3308
    • View Profile
« Last Edit: September 14, 2014, 06:27:16 am by tonyk »
Lack of arbitrage is the problem, isn't it. And this 'should' solves it.