Author [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: I want to run a seed node  (Read 631 times)

Offline FuLl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
I want to run a seed node
« on: September 17, 2014, 05:46:52 AM »

Hi,

In the near future, I'll have 2 servers each with their own static IP address, unused CPU cycles, & plenty of bandwidth. I would like to help the network by running a seed node on each.

I'm not clear on whether just running the bitsharesx client constitutes a seed node. I gather that it's separate from a delegate node, & can be helpful without having to be voted into the top 101.

What software would I have to install, & where can I find a download link with installation instructions?

One server runs Debian, & the other will run Lunar linux, so I'll need to build them from source. I assume that's available.

If it's the same software as a delegate node requires, I'll need some help, as I'm having trouble building it, but that's for another thread that's over in 'Technical Support'.

If someone would be kind enough to point me in the right direction, I'm happy to help the project this way.

Thanks,
-F

EDIT:
An afterthought, I probably should have posted this in the 'Newbies' section- sorry. Please feel free to move it should forum admins agree.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2014, 06:20:13 AM by FuLl »

Offline liondani

Re: I want to run a seed node
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2014, 06:33:15 AM »
Hi,

In the near future, I'll have 2 servers each with their own static IP address, unused CPU cycles, & plenty of bandwidth. I would like to help the network by running a seed node on each.

I'm not clear on whether just running the bitsharesx client constitutes a seed node. I gather that it's separate from a delegate node, & can be helpful without having to be voted into the top 101.

What software would I have to install, & where can I find a download link with installation instructions?

One server runs Debian, & the other will run Lunar linux, so I'll need to build them from source. I assume that's available.

If it's the same software as a delegate node requires, I'll need some help, as I'm having trouble building it, but that's for another thread that's over in 'Technical Support'.

If someone would be kind enough to point me in the right direction, I'm happy to help the project this way.

Thanks,
-F

EDIT:
An afterthought, I probably should have posted this in the 'Newbies' section- sorry. Please feel free to move it should forum admins agree.

You will find some infos here:
https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php?topic=5936.0

but it would be great for someone he did it already to describe us step by step how we run a seed node !
  https://bitshares.OPENLEDGER.info/?r=GREECE  | You are in Control | BUY | SELL | SHORT | SWAP | LOAN | TRADE |  

Offline liondani

Re: I want to run a seed node
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2014, 07:17:54 AM »
Yes I am a hero member and I am asking how to setup step by step a seed node
knowing the same time that I am secure enough! Hints @ Tips please  :)
thats an easy one ..
 - install bitsharesx client
 - open up firefwall ports/router forwarding (if necessary)
 - (optional) increase max number of conections
 - post pm to dacsunlimited and tell them the ip (there's is also a thread somewhere about it)

PS: do not run the delegate on a seed node!
  https://bitshares.OPENLEDGER.info/?r=GREECE  | You are in Control | BUY | SELL | SHORT | SWAP | LOAN | TRADE |  

Offline FuLl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: I want to run a seed node
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2014, 07:30:29 AM »
- open up firefwall ports/router forwarding (if necessary)
 - (optional) increase max number of conections
 - post pm to dacsunlimited and tell them the ip (there's is also a thread somewhere about it)

I got the client installed, now I have a few more questions:

-What commands do I need to run in an init script to be sure it starts each boot?
-What ports do I need to open for it?
-Where do I increase the max connections?

Offline liondani

Re: I want to run a seed node
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2014, 08:29:22 AM »
-Where do I increase the max connections?

when client is running type:

network_set_advanced_node_parameters { "peer_connection_retry_timeout": 30, "desired_number_of_connections": 50, "maximum_number_of_connections": 200 }
  https://bitshares.OPENLEDGER.info/?r=GREECE  | You are in Control | BUY | SELL | SHORT | SWAP | LOAN | TRADE |  

Offline FuLl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: I want to run a seed node
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2014, 08:54:10 AM »
Right now I have this script using the delegate startup instructions from github.

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
# Starts and stops bitsharesx
#


case "$1" in
start)
        echo ""
        echo "Starting BitSharesX"
        echo ""
        cd /usr/bin/BitSharesX
        gdb BitSharesX
sleep 1
        $0 view

;;

stop)
   echo ""
   echo "Stoping BitSharesX"

   /usr/bin/BitSharesX stop
;;

restart)
     $0 stop
     sleep 30
     $0 start
;;

view)
        ps -e | grep BitSharesX
;;


*)
        echo "Usage: $0 {start|stop|restart}"
        exit 1
esac

...But when I run it, the terminal stays in gdb mode, & instead of leaving me with a '$' prompt, it's "(gdb)", & I have to type 'quit' to get back to bash. Then that exits the process. Not quite right.

What's the right way to start & stop it?

And I don't see where to get the port info, either in the docs. Could someone tell me about that please?

Thanks,
-F


Offline FuLl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: I want to run a seed node
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2014, 09:04:56 AM »
-Where do I increase the max connections?

when client is running type:

network_set_advanced_node_parameters { "peer_connection_retry_timeout": 30, "desired_number_of_connections": 50, "maximum_number_of_connections": 200 }

If I do this command at the (gdb) prompt, I get:
Code: [Select]
Undefined command: "network_set_advanced_node_parameters".  Try "help".

And if I do:
Code: [Select]
$BitSharesX network_set_advanced_node_parameters { "peer_connection_retry_timeout": 30, "desired_number_of_connections": 50, "maximum_number_of_connections": 200 }
I get:
Code: [Select]
QXcbConnection: Could not connect to display
Aborted

What am I doing wrong?

Offline ssjpts

Re: I want to run a seed node
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2014, 01:04:17 PM »
i am not sure,but i think it can help you."Bitsuperlab".http://www.bitsuperlab.com/
"Hey, to delegates and those who want to provide stable seed nodes. "
https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php?topic=5936.0
新浪微博:剑指未来BTS
BTC:1Bc7gRGotktBmnNFr3BUUM22HFXCCTyxor
BTSX ID:loves,集大众之爱,待到BTS 500刀,10%回退给捐赠者,10%用于运营,剩余80%用于爱心事业和BTS宣传推广。

Offline cube

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1404
  • Bit by bit, we will get there!
    • View Profile
  • BTS: bitcube
  • Witness: bitcube
Re: I want to run a seed node
« Reply #8 on: September 20, 2014, 10:19:03 AM »
-Where do I increase the max connections?

when client is running type:

network_set_advanced_node_parameters { "peer_connection_retry_timeout": 30, "desired_number_of_connections": 50, "maximum_number_of_connections": 200 }

If I do this command at the (gdb) prompt, I get:
Code: [Select]
Undefined command: "network_set_advanced_node_parameters".  Try "help".

And if I do:
Code: [Select]
$BitSharesX network_set_advanced_node_parameters { "peer_connection_retry_timeout": 30, "desired_number_of_connections": 50, "maximum_number_of_connections": 200 }
I get:
Code: [Select]
QXcbConnection: Could not connect to display
Aborted

What am I doing wrong?

No, you do not need to increase connections.
ID: bitcube
bitcube is a dedicated witness and committe member. Please vote for bitcube.

Offline cube

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1404
  • Bit by bit, we will get there!
    • View Profile
  • BTS: bitcube
  • Witness: bitcube
Re: I want to run a seed node
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2014, 10:21:39 AM »
Right now I have this script using the delegate startup instructions from github.

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
# Starts and stops bitsharesx
#


case "$1" in
start)
        echo ""
        echo "Starting BitSharesX"
        echo ""
        cd /usr/bin/BitSharesX
        gdb BitSharesX
sleep 1
        $0 view

;;

stop)
   echo ""
   echo "Stoping BitSharesX"

   /usr/bin/BitSharesX stop
;;

restart)
     $0 stop
     sleep 30
     $0 start
;;

view)
        ps -e | grep BitSharesX
;;


*)
        echo "Usage: $0 {start|stop|restart}"
        exit 1
esac

...But when I run it, the terminal stays in gdb mode, & instead of leaving me with a '$' prompt, it's "(gdb)", & I have to type 'quit' to get back to bash. Then that exits the process. Not quite right.

What's the right way to start & stop it?

And I don't see where to get the port info, either in the docs. Could someone tell me about that please?

Thanks,
-F

You can remove the gdb word. The debugger was used in the early days.
ID: bitcube
bitcube is a dedicated witness and committe member. Please vote for bitcube.

Offline cube

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1404
  • Bit by bit, we will get there!
    • View Profile
  • BTS: bitcube
  • Witness: bitcube
Re: I want to run a seed node
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2014, 10:23:05 AM »
- open up firefwall ports/router forwarding (if necessary)
 - (optional) increase max number of conections
 - post pm to dacsunlimited and tell them the ip (there's is also a thread somewhere about it)

I got the client installed, now I have a few more questions:

..
-What ports do I need to open for it?
..

The default port being used is 1776. Make sure this port is open to the world.
ID: bitcube
bitcube is a dedicated witness and committe member. Please vote for bitcube.

Offline FuLl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: I want to run a seed node
« Reply #11 on: September 21, 2014, 02:26:47 AM »
Now when I do:

Code: [Select]
$BitSharesXor
Code: [Select]
$BitSharesX --daemon
I get this error:

Code: [Select]
QXcbConnection: Could not connect to display
Aborted

How do I get past that? I don't have XOrg installed, & don't want to install it.

What's the right command to run it headless?

Please advise.

Thanks alot for all your help.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2014, 02:43:55 AM by FuLl »

Offline FuLl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: I want to run a seed node
« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2014, 08:33:57 PM »
Finally got it working! :-)

Had to change from Debian to Ubuntu for the startup script to work.

54.165.9.208 for anyone who wants to use it.

 

Google+