Author [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Setting up a node  (Read 524 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tmbp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Setting up a node
« on: September 25, 2014, 05:24:56 PM »

Hello there!

I have compiled and setup a node to behave like a daemon on my remote server, I have compiled bitshares-ptsd and used the following configs:

Code: [Select]
server=1
rpcuser=user1
rpcpassword=pass4
rpcport=6003
port=5003
rpcssl=0

When I issue a simple command I get an error:

Code: [Select]
./bitshares-ptsd getblockcount
error: incorrect rpcuser or rpcpassword (authorization failed)
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 05:29:19 PM by tmbp »

Offline testz

Re: Setting up a node
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2014, 05:32:06 PM »

Try:
Code: [Select]
./bitshares-ptsd -rpcuser=user1 -rpcpassword=pass4 -rpcport=6003 getblockcount

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12071
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BTS: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: Setting up a node
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2014, 05:33:56 PM »
you need to kill and restart the pts daemon if you changed the config file AFTER executing the deamon!
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline tmbp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a node
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2014, 05:36:28 PM »

Try:
Code: [Select]
./bitshares-ptsd -rpcuser=user1 -rpcpassword=pass4 -rpcport=6003 getblockcount

Nope, still the same

you need to kill and restart the pts daemon if you changed the config file AFTER executing the deamon!

Already tried restarting multiple times

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12071
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BTS: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: Setting up a node
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2014, 05:45:26 PM »
you are surely using the right config file? please check if there is another one? .. strange though
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline tmbp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a node
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2014, 06:46:47 PM »
you are surely using the right config file? please check if there is another one? .. strange though

Code: [Select]
nano ~/.bitshares-pts/bitshares-pts.conf

server=1
rpcuser=user1
rpcpassword=pass4
rpcport=6003
port=5003
rpcssl=0

What am I missing?

Offline testz

Re: Setting up a node
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2014, 07:06:39 PM »
you are surely using the right config file? please check if there is another one? .. strange though

Code: [Select]
nano ~/.bitshares-pts/bitshares-pts.conf

server=1
rpcuser=user1
rpcpassword=pass4
rpcport=6003
port=5003
rpcssl=0

What am I missing?

Try to add in conf file:
Code: [Select]
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12071
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BTS: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: Setting up a node
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2014, 07:23:31 PM »
you are surely using the right config file? please check if there is another one? .. strange though

Code: [Select]
nano ~/.bitshares-pts/bitshares-pts.conf

server=1
rpcuser=user1
rpcpassword=pass4
rpcport=6003
port=5003
rpcssl=0

What am I missing?

looks about right .. could you try with only these three lines:

Code: [Select]
server=1
rpcuser=user1
rpcpassword=pass4
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline tmbp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Setting up a node
« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2014, 07:46:01 PM »
It seems that I had another daemon listening on the same port despite having specified a different port and rpcport in the file for that daemon.

tl:dr I goofed up

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12071
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BTS: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: Setting up a node
« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2014, 08:15:05 PM »
tl:dr I goofed up
I know what you mean .. happens to me all the time .. as long as it does burn money its worth learning from the errors :)
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

 

Google+