Author Topic: We are vulnerable in decision making  (Read 3510 times)

jakub

I hope @IOHKCharles could shed some light on it.
As an outsider he can have a better perspective.
Is Ethereum PR carefully managed and coordinated or does it just happen on its own?
« Last Edit: August 19, 2015, 04:16:30 pm by jakub »

jakub

Hence, do we really need centralized marketing? 
Sure.  But not as much as we might first think.

We have CNX working for us on the technology side -  do we say we have a centralized technology department? I don't think anybody is seeing it this way.
What is so different if we had a third party company taking care of our marketing strategy? Why are you calling this "centralized marketing"? It's a professional service that needs to hired.

All I am saying is that marketing is a profession and an art as much as technology is. (and I feel strange saying this as I am a coder by trade)
And as technology needs someone with long term vision so does marketing.
What makes us so sure the marketing stuff will take care of itself? Doesn't the Ethereum case teach us anything? Do we believe it happened spontaneously or did someone there got it planned and carefully executed?
I just hope we can find a balance and treat both technology and marketing on equal terms.

« Last Edit: August 19, 2015, 04:19:39 pm by jakub »

Offline Empirical1.2

• View Profile
Instead, we have evolved a system where... on the marketing side, we have left the referral incentives in place to attract independent marketing initiatives that to a large extent don't need to be coordinated.

+5%

While I was heavily critical and skeptical of the original delegate's systems ability to add value to BTS. I believe this is a powerful marketing solution that besides being decentralised is also cost effective because it rewards results not good intentions or vote wrangling. It also doesn't require the direct dilution of shares in highly illiquid start-ups to pay for it.