BitShares Forum

Main => Technical Support => Topic started by: Xeldal on September 19, 2015, 02:18:56 pm

Title: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: Xeldal on September 19, 2015, 02:18:56 pm
I've upgraded to 0.9.3 and im trying to create a backup, however nothing I do actually creates a backup.

From both the GUI console and the CLI I've tried:
backupwallet "c:\backup.json"
backupwallet 'c:\backup.json'
backupwallet backup.json

I've also tried all the above using wallet_backup_create

It sits for a while and then says "OK"  but no backup.json is created

I'm using the node.js means of running the GUI in the browser so there is no menu item for File>Create Backup

When I try to use BitShares.exe normally for the GUI specifying the "--data-dir=c:\btsdata"  it refuses to use this data directory and goes to appdata instead.   --data-dir  works fine when running bitshares_client.exe   WTF

What am I doing wrong.  Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: xeroc on September 19, 2015, 04:22:05 pm
backups may be in
%appdata%/BitShares/wallets/.backups/default
Note the dot on front of backups .. it may be a hidden dir in windows ..

when launching the client with data-dir you may either use a RALATIONAL path like "data" or maybe escape the backslash to "\\"

To export the keys for graphene you will want to use
wallet_export_keys
Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: Xeldal on September 19, 2015, 05:07:13 pm
backups may be in
%appdata%/BitShares/wallets/.backups/default
Note the dot on front of backups .. it may be a hidden dir in windows ..

when launching the client with data-dir you may either use a RALATIONAL path like "data" or maybe escape the backslash to "\\"

To export the keys for graphene you will want to use
wallet_export_keys

wallet_export_keys also does nothing for me.  no json is created anywhere. 

Unfortunately there is nothing in %appdata%/BitShares/wallets/.backups/default  either.

If I simply move everything from my btsdata directory into the appdata folder and try and run the GUI it crashes if I try and export,... If I try and log in it does nothing.  Similar problems to what I've always had and why I use the node.js web setup. If I try and run the CLI from appdata this way i get an error trying to open the wallet, and export keys requires an open wallet.  It doesn't seem to recognize default.

Edit: nevermind... one of the manafest files didn't copy correctly... I've got it open now... I'll see if i can get an export this way.
Code: [Select]
(wallet closed) >>> wallet_open default
10001 level_map_open_failure: level_map open failure
Failure opening database: C:/Users/John/AppData/Roaming/BitShares/wallets/defaul
t
Status: IO error: C:\Users\John\AppData\Roaming\BITSHA~1\wallets\default\MANIFES
T-000672: The handle is invalid.

    {"db":"C:/Users/John/AppData/Roaming/BitShares/wallets/default","msg":"IO er
ror: C:\\Users\\John\\AppData\\Roaming\\BITSHA~1\\wallets\\default\\MANIFEST-000
672: The handle is invalid.\r\n"}
    th_a  level_map.hpp:68 bts::db::level_map<int,struct bts::wallet::generic_wa
llet_record>::open

    {"dir":"C:/Users/John/AppData/Roaming/BitShares/wallets/default","create":tr
ue,"cache_size":0}
    th_a  level_map.hpp:73 bts::db::level_map<int,struct bts::wallet::generic_wa
llet_record>::open

    {"dir":"C:/Users/John/AppData/Roaming/BitShares/wallets/default","create":tr
ue,"leveldb_cache_size":0,"write_through":true,"sync_on_write":false}
    th_a  cached_level_map.hpp:19 bts::db::cached_level_map<int,struct bts::wall
et::generic_wallet_record,class std::map<int,struct bts::wallet::generic_wallet_
record,struct std::less<int>,class std::allocator<struct std::pair<int const ,st
ruct bts::wallet::generic_wallet_record> > > >::open
Error opening wallet file C:/Users/John/AppData/Roaming/BitShares/wallets/defaul
t
    {"file":"C:/Users/John/AppData/Roaming/BitShares/wallets/default"}
    th_a  wallet_db.cpp:183 bts::wallet::wallet_db::open
Unable to open wallet C:/Users/John/AppData/Roaming/BitShares/wallets/default
    {"wallet_file_path":"C:/Users/John/AppData/Roaming/BitShares/wallets/default
"}
    th_a  wallet.cpp:756 bts::wallet::detail::wallet_impl::open_file

    {"wallet_name":"default"}
    th_a  wallet.cpp:989 bts::wallet::wallet::open

    {}
    th_a  common_api_client.cpp:2926 bts::rpc_stubs::common_api_client::wallet_o
pen

    {"command":"wallet_open"}
    th_a  cli.cpp:626 bts::cli::detail::cli_impl::execute_command

When I move everything back to my c:\btsdata directory and use the CLI with --data-dir=c:\btsdata it runs fine, no issues opening or logging in.  It just refuses to actually make the json for export.

IDK, I'll keep trying... very frustrating.
Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: Xeldal on September 19, 2015, 05:43:58 pm
Ok, so after moving everything to appdata, I was able to export wallet via the GUI File>Export Wallet menu item.  Hopefully I can use this for Graphene but it sounds like maybe I need the json from "wallet_export_keys" instead

Strange that the GUI refuses to work with "--data-dir"

I'm still not able to use
Code: [Select]
wallet_export_keys "c:\keys.json"  in either the CLI nor the GUI console

whether I use relative or absolute addressing.  It never does anything.   The json is not created anywhere. 

I know there are transactions in this wallet that have a corrupt memo field, as well, there are 20 or so accounts and many of these have 50,000 or more generated keys.  could any of these affect the wallets ability to export?

Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: xeroc on September 19, 2015, 05:54:25 pm
- win+r
- enter "cmd"
- browse to the installed dir of bitshares
- launch the bitshares app from the console
- try "wallet_export_keys mykeys.json"
Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: Xeldal on September 19, 2015, 06:33:37 pm
- win+r
- enter "cmd"
- browse to the installed dir of bitshares
- launch the bitshares app from the console
- try "wallet_export_keys mykeys.json"


I tried the above,
also tried with "Run as Administrator"
as well as Git Shell / Windows Powershell

All the same results.  No json file.

I guess next I can try importing this backup onto a linux machine, importing and trying it there.
Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: tonyk on September 19, 2015, 08:48:34 pm
- win+r
- enter "cmd"
- browse to the installed dir of bitshares
- launch the bitshares app from the console
- try "wallet_export_keys mykeys.json"


I tried the above,
also tried with "Run as Administrator"
as well as Git Shell / Windows Powershell

All the same results.  No json file.

I guess next I can try importing this backup onto a linux machine, importing and trying it there.

I remember months ago having the same trouble exporting the backup under windows ( win 7) CLI , never managed to do it. And yes it is working well and just as expected on the same machine on Linux.
Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: Xeldal on September 19, 2015, 08:50:27 pm
- win+r
- enter "cmd"
- browse to the installed dir of bitshares
- launch the bitshares app from the console
- try "wallet_export_keys mykeys.json"


I tried the above,
also tried with "Run as Administrator"
as well as Git Shell / Windows Powershell

All the same results.  No json file.

I guess next I can try importing this backup onto a linux machine, importing and trying it there.

I remember months ago having the same trouble exporting the backup under windows ( win 7) CLI , never managed to do it. And yes it is working well and just as expected on the same machine on Linux.

That is good to know. Thanks.
Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: Shentist on September 19, 2015, 09:06:28 pm
as a user do i need 0.9.3 backup or is a backup with 0.9.1 also fine?
Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: xeroc on September 20, 2015, 06:55:45 pm
as a user do i need 0.9.3 backup or is a backup with 0.9.1 also fine?
Unless you have made market transaction in the dex (buy sell short) your 0.9.1 backups should contain all relevant keys

Edit: statement above may also be wrong if you have received titan transactions :(
Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: Xeldal on September 21, 2015, 03:47:16 pm
I imported my backup onto a linux machine running 0.9.3
It imported successfully but the result is just like my windows machine

 "wallet_export_keys keys.json" does nothing.

It says "OK" but does not create the json file
Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: fav on September 21, 2015, 04:26:00 pm
tried with a capital C:\ ? :)
Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: Xeldal on September 21, 2015, 04:35:34 pm
tried with a capital C:\ ? :)

:)  I don't think windows discriminates on case, but yes I did try.  No luck.
Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: Xeldal on September 21, 2015, 08:12:45 pm
I imported my backup onto a linux machine running 0.9.3
It imported successfully but the result is just like my windows machine

 "wallet_export_keys keys.json" does nothing.

It says "OK" but does not create the json file

I just checked again and it looks like the Linux version has in fact produced the json I was looking for.  It just took a very long time.  Long after the client said "OK" seemingly indicating it was finished.

Title: Re: Can't create a backup, GUI can't use --data-dir; 0.9.3
Post by: neo1344 on September 23, 2015, 05:44:43 pm
hello
l must confess that l m useless when it comes to computing,l have wallet 9.2 version running on computer ,my question would be, would it work if l just import back up to Graphene wallet?
like moving back up  to a newer version wallet
Regards