BitShares Forum

Other => Graveyard => BitShares PTS => Topic started by: baoky on January 07, 2014, 05:16:40 am

Title: why my yam only can use up to 512mb per thread
Post by: baoky on January 07, 2014, 05:16:40 am
./yam -M xpt2h://user.user1:pass@mining.ypool.net:10034:8080:8081:8082:8083:8084:8085:8086:8087/pts -t 16 -P pts:av=0&m=1024


But the ram use is still 512, is there difference in speed if I could utilize 1024 ram per thread.

Consider my server have 8gb ram
Title: Re: why my yam only can use up to 512mb per thread
Post by: 029xue on January 07, 2014, 09:05:32 am
This probably a bug of yam and the work-around is to specify each parameter separately:

Code: [Select]
./yam -M xpt2h://user.user1:pass@mining.ypool.net:10034:8080:8081:8082:8083:8084:8085:8086:8087/pts -t 16 -P pts:av=0 -P pts:m=1024
Further more, I also found when proxy is used, it must be specified as the first paramter, else it won't work.
Code: [Select]
./yam --proxy socks4a://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8080 --compact-stats 1 -M xpt2h://xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Title: Re: why my yam only can use up to 512mb per thread
Post by: yvg1900 on January 07, 2014, 09:36:42 am
This is not a bug, but specifics of command line processing - bash interprets ampersand by itself as command separator.

You have three options to work around this: 1) specify parameters separately, 2) use config file. 3) out quotes around parameter just like as you do for parameters with spaces.

yvg1900
Title: Re: why my yam only can use up to 512mb per thread
Post by: 029xue on January 07, 2014, 01:08:16 pm
This is not a bug, but specifics of command line processing - bash interprets ampersand by itself as command separator.

You have three options to work around this: 1) specify parameters separately, 2) use config file. 3) out quotes around parameter just like as you do for parameters with spaces.

yvg1900

Great, once quota the parameters, then no matter where is proxy is, all works well. :)