Author Topic: the end of Bitgold the company? :) Impacts to bitshares?  (Read 1598 times)

Offline Empirical1.2

• View Profile
Yeah seems like it would seriously effect BitGold and maybe even some business for BitReserve. (Which is possibly good for BTS)

Could also possibly effect the institutional support for projects like IDentabit?
« Last Edit: August 15, 2015, 11:36:11 am by Empirical1.2 »
If you want to take the island burn the boats

Offline Ben Mason

• Integrity & Innovation, powered by Bitshares
    • View Profile
  • BitShares: benjojo
Read the article.  It is a little bit concerning.  From one person on reddit:

[–]danielravennest 5 points 5 hours ago
This ruling raises all kinds of questions:
So if I get a certificate from Starbucks for a free coffee, it that a commodity-backed (coffee) token (the certificate)? Whether the token is paper or electronic shouldn't matter.
I'm a woodworker, and formerly owned 100 acres of timber land, and occasionally saw up logs for their lumber. Say I get some friends to help cut up the wood. It's heavy work, and people have helped me in the past. I tell them they can have some of the lumber once it dries, and use a colored coin as a token to prove ownership. Then they can trade it around to other people who would get the lumber eventually.
Lumber is definitely a commodity, and the colored coin is a token. So do I need to register as a money transmitter? What if I have a commercial sawmill, and sell my future production to lumber users using colored coins? That might be a way to finance expansion without taking a big loan.

You do it on a decentralized platform that they cant take down.
Absolutely. Encoded, sovereign, constitutional (consensus derived) money on a decentralised exchange on a decentralized internet.