Author Topic: Can we do these things  (Read 2831 times)

Offline Erlich Bachman

• I'm a pro
    • View Profile

It's the same thing with the NOTEs sharedrop. They paid all those transaction fees.

Wow I didnt know that.

Being able to sharedrop or pay a dividend with just 1 transaction fee should be on the roadmap for a post-2.0 feature development imo.  (If its not already in 2.0).

Agreed, the "single" transaction fee is derivative of how many transactions were applied to the system.  For instance, if I sent 9 dividends out, then the fee should show up in my transaction history as a single 0.9BTS fee = (0.1BTS/transaction)(9 dividends sent out)

Just like how Peertracks paid 1500 BTS for 15,000 transactions (at 0.1BTS per transaction)x(15,000 NOTES holders) when distributing NOTES

We can create bulk discounts by amount, for instance:

1/2 price on 10k-100k simultaneous transactions
75% off 100k-1M simultaneous transactions
>1M simultaneous transactions = regular price

This prevents spam attacks with false dividends paid to millions of accounts,
You own the network, but who pays for development?

Offline xeroc

• Board Moderator
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Not sure about the transaction format in BTS2, but at least in BTS0.9 you can bundle many deposit/withdraw operations into one transaction .. afaik the tx max size is 1MB.
IIRC, with BTS2, the fee is deterministically coupled with the size of the transaction, hence this may cost your more ...

Anyway, the blockchain knows the address<->balance pairs already, so it should be possible to implement a dividend operation to reduce the size of the transaction and thus the fee ..

Offline Ander

• View Profile
  • BitShares: Ander

It's the same thing with the NOTEs sharedrop. They paid all those transaction fees.

Wow I didnt know that.