Author Topic: Migrating to BTS 2.0 is confusing  (Read 5770 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

julian1

  • Guest
Using unlocked >>> import_balance  account [owner-priv-key]  true

reports that it succeeded.

But still no balances!

julian1

  • Guest
Imported json successfully with import_accounts.

And it's possible to list accounts.

But there are no balances.

Do I need to run,

import_balance <accountname> [<balance wif key>] true

This needs a wif key, which only makes sense if I imported using import_key according to the wiki ?

Do I need to do something else?


julian1

  • Guest
Ok, so i have the witness node running setting the endpoint.

./witness_node/witness_node  --rpc-endpoint 127.0.0.1:8090

and then run the cli_wallet

and it gives me a console.

I assume that's correct

julian1

  • Guest
What is the process I need to run to get a node running and synchronized with the chain?

I don't see this information anywhere in the documentation.

Is it the cli_wallet? Or is that just a http/rpc client.

I'm running a headless ubuntu 14.04

julian1

  • Guest
I've got bitshares-2 compiled successfully without qt deps.

What do I need to do know to start a cli console? And to synchronize the chain and import json files?

I tried to run the witness node, but I'm getting what looks like a locale error?

Quote

root@bitshares-2:~/bitshares-2# programs/witness_node/witness_node
terminate called after throwing an instance of 'std::runtime_error'
  what():  locale::facet::_S_create_c_locale name not valid
Aborted (core dumped)
 


julian1

  • Guest
try
Code: [Select]
git submodule update --init --recursive

Perfect. Thanks Puppies.

Offline puppies

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1659
    • View Profile
  • BitShares: puppies
« Last Edit: October 14, 2015, 07:59:51 am by puppies »
https://metaexchange.info | Bitcoin<->Altcoin exchange | Instant | Safe | Low spreads

julian1

  • Guest
You can import multiple BTS1 backup files into one single wallet, so that is no problem.

Great thanks mindphlux.

Trying to compile 9.3.c

Quote
git co 'bts/0.9.3c'
git submodule init
git submodule update
cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release . 2>&1 | less

...
--   coroutine
** for a debug build: cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Debug ..
CMake Error at libraries/fc/CMakeLists.txt:210 (add_subdirectory):
  The source directory

    /home/xxx/bitshares/libraries/fc/vendor/websocketpp

  does not contain a CMakeLists.txt file.

Any ideas?



Offline mindphlux

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 232
    • View Profile
You can import multiple BTS1 backup files into one single wallet, so that is no problem.
Please consider voting for my witness mindphlux.witness and my committee user mindphlux. I will not vote for changes that affect witness pay.

julian1

  • Guest
I have a bunch of different wallets. I would prefer to consolidate the accounts and assets into a single wallet - but what would be the best way to do this? Munge together the exported json files into one export json? Or just export/import each one separately into 2.0? I'm fairly handy with the cli, but haven't compiled 2.0 yet.

Offline svk

I managed to import my wallet into version 2.0  here: https://bitshares.openledger.info/#/account/werneo/overview

... unfortunately the balances page is blank.  During the import process, graphene confirmed my account name, and the amount of bts, brownie pts, etc., that was in my 0.9.3 wallet. But now that I finished the process and looked around the wallet, I don't see an inventory of my bts anywhere.

Also, at this moment I am still logged into my graphene wallet through my google chrome browser. I wanted to see what would happen if I tried to login from a different browser, but when I visited https://bitshares.openledger.info in firefox, there was no visible way to log into the wallet.

Should I be concerned?
Wallets are unique to each browser, they're stored using the IndexedDB functionality of the browser. You can of course export from browser to browser using a backup.
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline liondani

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3737
  • Inch by inch, play by play
    • View Profile
    • My detailed info
  • BitShares: liondani
  • GitHub: liondani
What will happen if I press the blue button "reset" prior the "import"  ?



It goes to the page that asks about the import file from start....  :)
I wanted to point out that it is scary to see a"reset" button right to the  keys summary!   :P

Offline liondani

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3737
  • Inch by inch, play by play
    • View Profile
    • My detailed info
  • BitShares: liondani
  • GitHub: liondani
What will happen if I press the blue button "reset" prior the "import"  ?


Tuck Fheman

  • Guest
ya once I had it explained repeatedly ... it was easy. ;)

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12922
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
I'm missing 1 of my usernames.  Anyone have any ideas of how to get that back?  I didn't register it.  Where get I buy a namespace?

good question about 0.9.X accounts not registered on the blockchain. I don't think they made it into the genesis block, but someone keep me honest.

I had an unregistered account and it didn't show up either. I didn't have any assets in it though.
not registered accounts can TECHNICALLY not be available in BTS2 .. how would the snapshot know about your account if you haven't registered it?

anyway .. if you see funds in an ungregistered account you should cetainly be able to import those funds into the BTS2 wallet too .. there may be a bug preventing that (not sure how the balance claim procedure is actually implemented) @jcalfee1

btw .. as mentioned several times .. bitshares 2.0 does not know the concept of unregistered accounts anylonger .. your are REQURIED to register an account!!

Offline phillyguy

I'm missing 1 of my usernames.  Anyone have any ideas of how to get that back?  I didn't register it.  Where get I buy a namespace?

good question about 0.9.X accounts not registered on the blockchain. I don't think they made it into the genesis block, but someone keep me honest.

I had an unregistered account and it didn't show up either. I didn't have any assets in it though.
https://metaexchange.info | Bitcoin<->Altcoin exchange | Instant | Safe | Low spreads

Offline gn1

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
I have a question.
On https://github.com/bitshares/bitshares-2/releases/tag/v2.15.286 , bytemaster put two links to the hosted wallets.

https://bitshares.org/wallet
https://bitshares.openledger.info/

Are these two "totally different" wallets, or are these two wallets connected and interchangeable?
I'm a BitShares enthusiast in Japan, spreading BitShares daily to the Japanese people through https://genxnotes.com. Help us grow bitJPY together, so that bitUSD/bitJPY market pair will become the most popular market worldwide! Imagine what kind of world it will become when we execute this.

Tuck Fheman

  • Guest
It just worked for a whale! I watched that huge balance coming in while drooling.  :P

Offline URSAY

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile

Offline BossYamasaki

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • kik• BossYamasaki
    • View Profile
I'm running Bitshares 2.0!! It was easy as pie migrating to 2.0 thanks for the help guys.

Offline topcandle

I'm missing 1 of my usernames.  Anyone have any ideas of how to get that back?  I didn't register it.  Where get I buy a namespace?
« Last Edit: October 14, 2015, 01:21:11 am by topcandle »
https://metaexchange.info | Bitcoin<->Altcoin exchange | Instant | Safe | Low spreads

Offline phillyguy

https://metaexchange.info | Bitcoin<->Altcoin exchange | Instant | Safe | Low spreads

Offline werneo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
    • View Profile
    • chronicle of the precession of simulacra
  • BitShares: werneo
^^Go to the Dashboard screen > Click Settings > Click Wallet > Click "Claim Balances" > You should be able to claim your balances from 0.9.3 into the web wallet.

 +5% muchos gracias, pilgrim  :D

Now I am officially on version 2.0

Let the ride begin.  8)
« Last Edit: October 14, 2015, 12:17:40 am by werneo »

Offline Akado

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2752
    • View Profile
  • BitShares: akado
It's easier to do a sticky thread about this in the general section and send everyone there for questions/answers instead of happing 1000 threads popping up about this, otherwise it will be a mess. Work mods, work  :P

@cass @fav
https://metaexchange.info | Bitcoin<->Altcoin exchange | Instant | Safe | Low spreads

Offline phillyguy

^^Go to the Dashboard screen > Click Settings > Click Wallets > Click "Claim Balances" > You should be able to claim your balances from 0.9.3 into the web wallet.
« Last Edit: October 14, 2015, 12:52:04 am by phillyguy »
https://metaexchange.info | Bitcoin<->Altcoin exchange | Instant | Safe | Low spreads

Offline werneo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
    • View Profile
    • chronicle of the precession of simulacra
  • BitShares: werneo
I managed to import my wallet into version 2.0  here: https://bitshares.openledger.info/#/account/werneo/overview

... unfortunately the balances page is blank.  During the import process, graphene confirmed my account name, and the amount of bts, brownie pts, etc., that was in my 0.9.3 wallet. But now that I finished the process and looked around the wallet, I don't see an inventory of my bts anywhere.

Also, at this moment I am still logged into my graphene wallet through my google chrome browser. I wanted to see what would happen if I tried to login from a different browser, but when I visited https://bitshares.openledger.info in firefox, there was no visible way to log into the wallet.

Should I be concerned?
« Last Edit: October 14, 2015, 01:54:45 am by werneo »

Offline puppies

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1659
    • View Profile
  • BitShares: puppies
I am on wallet version 0.9.3

On 10/1 I exported my wallet backup and my wallet keys.

Is this enough to restore my wallet in Graphene? Do I need more recent keys and backup?

I am opening my 0.9.3 wallet right now, but it will take a while for the old blockchain to catch up to the current date.

As long as you didn't move any balances (any transactions) your old backup should be complete.
https://metaexchange.info | Bitcoin<->Altcoin exchange | Instant | Safe | Low spreads

Offline werneo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 305
    • View Profile
    • chronicle of the precession of simulacra
  • BitShares: werneo
I am on wallet version 0.9.3

On 10/1 I exported my wallet backup and my wallet keys.

Is this enough to restore my wallet in Graphene? Do I need more recent keys and backup?

I am opening my 0.9.3 wallet right now, but it will take a while for the old blockchain to catch up to the current date.



jakub

  • Guest
It shouldn't be difficult if you stick to his guide:
http://docs.bitshares.eu/migration/index.html

The only tricky part might be getting your BTS 0.9.3c wallet synced.

So exporting my wallet by accessing it in the main menu is all I need to do? I'm currently running 0.9.3c on my macbook
Yes

Offline BossYamasaki

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • kik• BossYamasaki
    • View Profile
It shouldn't be difficult if you stick to his guide:
http://docs.bitshares.eu/migration/index.html

The only tricky part might be getting your BTS 0.9.3c wallet synced.

So exporting my wallet by accessing it in the main menu is all I need to do? I'm currently running 0.9.3c on my macbook

jakub

  • Guest
Do I need to install 0.9.3c, export the keys from that newer wallet version, then import those keys into Bitshares 2?
Yes. But if you are on Windows you need to do the export using the console, not the menu.

For more details please refer to this guide:
http://docs.bitshares.eu/migration/index.html

jakub

  • Guest
It shouldn't be difficult if you stick to his guide:
http://docs.bitshares.eu/migration/index.html

The only tricky part might be getting your BTS 0.9.3c wallet synced.

Offline URSAY

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Agreed.  I'm currently running a 9.0.2 client and it's fully sync'ed.  I've got 9.0.3c and Bitshares 2 ready to install.  Do I need to install 9.0.3c, export the keys from that newer wallet version, then import those keys into Bitshares 2?

Offline BossYamasaki

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • kik• BossYamasaki
    • View Profile
Is migrating to BTS 2.0 as simple as exporting your BTS 1.0 backup and importing it to BTS 2.0 or no? I've read some of the threads on how to migrate to BTS 2.0, but it's confusing as hell to me.