Author Topic: Wow. That was a shitty day for bitshares  (Read 14793 times)

Offline BunkerChainLabs-DataSecurityNode

Part of it. UIAs could do it right now without the bond market though. What stops a UIA from paying dividends?

Transaction fees. Thats why we went for buy back instead of dividends.
Becoming a security is what stops it I thought. Then becoming subject to all kinds of regulatory issues. Transaction fees might be an issue also.

The laws just changed on that. It's now a possible route to follow the new legislation and become a security. It's also tax free in Europe so it's actually a good time and legally the landscape is now in favor of securities on Bitshares.

While I'm not a lawyer and don't know all the paperwork, I know it is now possible to start down that path. Equity crowd funding is now realistic. Although in the case of Metaexchange it might not actually be desirable because that is an all crypto exchange.

https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php/topic,19607.0.html

While the barrier has been lowered, you are still looking at approx $10k in legal work and there is still the need to be compliant. I was having a conversation today about crowdfunding with the blockchain today with investors... they know all about this and just want to see if anybody out there is actually doing this and is compliant. I only know of gemspace.net... but there isn't anything public to indicate how it is going with that.
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+
www.Peerplays.com | Decentralized Gaming Built with Graphene - Now with BookiePro and Sweeps!
+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+

Offline luckybit

• View Profile
  • BitShares: Luckybit
Part of it. UIAs could do it right now without the bond market though. What stops a UIA from paying dividends?

Becoming a security is what stops it I thought. Then becoming subject to all kinds of regulatory issues. Transaction fees might be an issue also.