Author Topic: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu  (Read 27430 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12722
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #45 on: January 29, 2016, 08:48:20 am »
I've checked it several times, so there is very little chance that I've made a mistake.
It's very strange, as there is no apparent difference between the content of those files.
But this might be some Windows-related issue.
I had these kind of issues as well .. do you have a CLEAN repository? Cmake creates some temporary files that WILL screw things up.

make clean
find . -name "CMakeCache.txt" | xargs rm -f
find . -name "CMakeFiles" | xargs rm -Rf
cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release .
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12722
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #46 on: January 29, 2016, 08:49:26 am »
What is the reason all newly created accounts on the testnet have committee-account as their proxy?
Is it a bug?
It certainly was not on purpose ..
No idea what the reason for this is .. and since this is a clone of the official repository, I assume it's the same behavior on the real network
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline abit

  • Committee member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3482
    • View Profile
    • Steemit Blog
  • BitShares: abit
  • GitHub: abitmore
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #47 on: January 29, 2016, 09:33:09 am »
What is the reason all newly created accounts on the testnet have committee-account as their proxy?
Is it a bug?
It's a whatever "feature". I don't know why it's designed like this though.
BTS account: abit
BTS committee member: abit
BTS witness: in.abit

jakub

  • Guest
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #48 on: January 29, 2016, 09:34:21 am »
I've checked it several times, so there is very little chance that I've made a mistake.
It's very strange, as there is no apparent difference between the content of those files.
But this might be some Windows-related issue.
I had these kind of issues as well .. do you have a CLEAN repository? Cmake creates some temporary files that WILL screw things up.

make clean
find . -name "CMakeCache.txt" | xargs rm -f
find . -name "CMakeFiles" | xargs rm -Rf
cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release .

I'll try with "make clean".
But the symptoms I have, do not indicate that Cmake is the culprit:

(a) When I clear the witness folders (i.e. witness_node_data_dir & object_database) and run:
Code: [Select]
witness_node --genesis-json zip-genesis.json(where the zip-genesis.json file originates from the github zip)
everything is fine, I get the correct blockchain id.

(b) When I clear the witness folders (i.e. witness_node_data_dir & object_database) and run the same witness:
Code: [Select]
witness_node --genesis-json git-genesis.json(where the git-genesis.json file originates from cloning the github repo)
I get a different blockchain id.

So I use the same compilation of witness node, just "different" genesis.json files (though their content is the same) and, as a result, the blockchain ids are different.
There must be some difference between those files but I'm not able to determine this difference.

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12722
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #49 on: January 29, 2016, 11:26:47 am »
(a) When I clear the witness folders (i.e. witness_node_data_dir & object_database) and run:
Code: [Select]
witness_node --genesis-json zip-genesis.json(where the zip-genesis.json file originates from the github zip)
everything is fine, I get the correct blockchain id.

I though that the genesis.json is automatically added to the
witness_node but it seems the compile process should be differently.
This is my observation from a fresh checkout:

Code: [Select]
git clone github:BitSharesEurope/graphene-testnet
cd graphene-testnet
git submodule update --init --recursive
cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release .
make
programs/witness_node/witness_node
# Turned out with the wrong chain id

programs/witness_node/witness_node --genesis-json genesis.json
# turned out out with correct chain id and connected
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

jakub

  • Guest
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #50 on: January 29, 2016, 12:03:07 pm »
What is the reason all newly created accounts on the testnet have committee-account as their proxy?
Is it a bug?
It's a whatever "feature". I don't know why it's designed like this though.
I've added it as a potential issue on github:
https://github.com/cryptonomex/graphene/issues/543

jakub

  • Guest
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #51 on: January 29, 2016, 02:04:25 pm »
(a) When I clear the witness folders (i.e. witness_node_data_dir & object_database) and run:
Code: [Select]
witness_node --genesis-json zip-genesis.json(where the zip-genesis.json file originates from the github zip)
everything is fine, I get the correct blockchain id.

I though that the genesis.json is automatically added to the
witness_node but it seems the compile process should be differently.
This is my observation from a fresh checkout:

Code: [Select]
git clone github:BitSharesEurope/graphene-testnet
cd graphene-testnet
git submodule update --init --recursive
cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release .
make
programs/witness_node/witness_node
# Turned out with the wrong chain id

programs/witness_node/witness_node --genesis-json genesis.json
# turned out out with correct chain id and connected

I might have discovered something interesting.
Look at the binary representations of these two files:

This is the genesis.json file that you receive when you clone the repo:

The above file produces the "wrong" blockchain id.

Whereas this is the genesis.json file that you receive when you download a zipped version of the repo:

The above file produces the "correct" blockchain id.

« Last Edit: January 29, 2016, 02:06:07 pm by jakub »

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12722
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #52 on: January 29, 2016, 02:27:35 pm »
wow .. that is weird
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline abit

  • Committee member
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3482
    • View Profile
    • Steemit Blog
  • BitShares: abit
  • GitHub: abitmore
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #53 on: January 29, 2016, 04:35:34 pm »
This is the genesis.json file that you receive when you clone the repo:
The above file produces the "wrong" blockchain id.

Whereas this is the genesis.json file that you receive when you download a zipped version of the repo:
The above file produces the "correct" blockchain id.
Differences are the carriage returns (CR) aka "\r" or 0D in hex.
The first one is in windows text file format, which has both "\r"s and "\n"s, or 0D 0A in hex.
The second one is in linux text file format, which has only "\n"s, or 0A in hex.

So the difference may come from:
* editor settings
* git repo settings
* git client settings
* zip tool settings

Thoughts?
« Last Edit: January 29, 2016, 04:39:29 pm by abit »
BTS account: abit
BTS committee member: abit
BTS witness: in.abit

jakub

  • Guest
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #54 on: January 29, 2016, 04:42:20 pm »
This is the genesis.json file that you receive when you clone the repo:
The above file produces the "wrong" blockchain id.

Whereas this is the genesis.json file that you receive when you download a zipped version of the repo:
The above file produces the "correct" blockchain id.
Differences are the line feeds aka "\r" or 0D in hex.
The first one is in windows text file format, which has both "\r"s and "\n"s, or 0D 0A in hex.
The second one is in linux text file format, which has only "\n"s, or 0A in hex.

So the difference may come from:
* editor settings
* git repo settings
* git client settings
* zip tool settings

Thoughts?

The thing is, those slight differences produce different behavior of the witness node.
The process of calculating the blockchain id seems to depend on those small differences.
And xeroc seems to have similar issues on Linux.

IMO, it's a bug.

Offline noisy

Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #55 on: January 31, 2016, 09:02:58 pm »
[member=120]xeroc[/member] please correct me if am wrong, but I think right now there is no possibility to create USD in testnet, because borrowing is possible only for assets which has price feed.

Could you run a price feed for all bitAssets which has price feed in real network? Could you add a documentation how to run such price feed for all assets for testnetwork? 
Take a look on: https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php/topic,19625.msg251894.html - I have a crazy idea - lets convince cryptonomex developers to use livecoding.tv

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12722
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #56 on: January 31, 2016, 09:06:56 pm »
There is a PEG.FAKEUSD for that purpose and it should have a price feed.

I will not use USD to make clear the those tokens are worthless
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline merivercap

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 661
    • View Profile
    • BitCash
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #57 on: January 31, 2016, 09:10:36 pm »
[member=120]xeroc[/member] please correct me if am wrong, but I think right now there is no possibility to create USD in testnet, because borrowing is possible only for assets which has price feed.

Could you run a price feed for all bitAssets which has price feed in real network? Could you add a documentation how to run such price feed for all assets for testnetwork?

[member=39864]noisy[/member] BTW feel free to play around with PEG.FAKEUSD if you are ok with some parameter tweaks... it uses one price-feed from Poloniex.   
(Note:  Parameters are: MSSR: 100.1%, MCR: 175%, forced settlement at 90%)
BitCash - http://www.bitcash.org 
Beta: bitCash Wallet / p2p Gateway: (https://m.bitcash.org)
Beta: bitCash Trade (https://trade.bitcash.org)

Offline noisy

Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #58 on: January 31, 2016, 09:43:49 pm »
There is a PEG.FAKEUSD for that purpose and it should have a price feed.

I will not use USD to make clear the those tokens are worthless

Testnet in my opinion should looks like ideal place to trade assets. USD:BTC exchange should behave like a real exchange. All assets like USD, BTC, EUR, GOLD, SILVER should have price feeds. Ours bots should provide a liquidity for those markets :)

In my opinion we should just add the reminder about fact, that this is just a test network to footer of wallet. We already emphasize that with URL address. Additional information (more elaborated) could be in deposit-withdraw section.

« Last Edit: January 31, 2016, 11:21:49 pm by noisy »
Take a look on: https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php/topic,19625.msg251894.html - I have a crazy idea - lets convince cryptonomex developers to use livecoding.tv

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12722
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #59 on: February 01, 2016, 08:40:40 am »
There is a PEG.FAKEUSD for that purpose and it should have a price feed.

I will not use USD to make clear the those tokens are worthless

Testnet in my opinion should looks like ideal place to trade assets. USD:BTC exchange should behave like a real exchange. All assets like USD, BTC, EUR, GOLD, SILVER should have price feeds. Ours bots should provide a liquidity for those markets :)

In my opinion we should just add the reminder about fact, that this is just a test network to footer of wallet. We already emphasize that with URL address. Additional information (more elaborated) could be in deposit-withdraw section.
I completely removed the deposit-withdraw section from the account settings, so that shouldn't be a big deal.
My thinking is that we need to make as clear as possible that this is a testnet and it's tokens are worthless. Calling them USD and pegging them similar to BTS:USD is counterproductive imho ..
But I certainly agree that everyone should put a bot into PEG.FAKEUSD:TEST
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH