Author Topic: Using the prediction market to prioritize worker proposals and add liquidity  (Read 1384 times)

Offline SpiritofJefferson

• View Profile
The problem with that idea is that a proposal that people find unlikely to increase the BTS price will probably not be implemented and the prediction can never be settled. Or did I miss something?

Ah, I honestly forgot about that. In Robin Hanson's paper that money is refunded, but with how bitshares currently is it might be difficult.. Are there any prediction asset permissions that might allow this? Or would it matter if it was just settled at whatever it was at the time limit? I've been wondering this too actually.
Some other problems with it are deciding when to start the prediction market, when to end it, and how we can decide to stop paying for it if we don't like it. I have a few ideas of how we could do this which I mentioned before. But again, I'm not an expert by any means. Another thing is that you can't just have it track the price automatically because the price might move due to external forces having nothing to do with the proposal. This is why we need the time limit on how long the market can exist. All of this aside, I'm thinking we could even just do this now informally just to help aggregate information for the shareholders to act on. This might be the easiest and best decision. Plus it would be way less complicated.

Also, I just realized I accidentally misused the word liquidity. I meant that it would increase the use of the DEX and profit bitshares in increased trading. My bad everyone

Offline pc

• View Profile
    • Bitcoin - Perspektive oder Risiko?
  • BitShares: cyrano
The problem with that idea is that a proposal that people find unlikely to increase the BTS price will probably not be implemented and the prediction can never be settled. Or did I miss something?
Bitcoin - Perspektive oder Risiko? ISBN 978-3-8442-6568-2 http://bitcoin.quisquis.de

Offline BunkerChainLabs-DataSecurityNode