Author Topic: Which wallet to use and how to import from Bitshares 0.9.3c  (Read 1108 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Black Arrow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Which wallet to use and how to import from Bitshares 0.9.3c
« on: August 13, 2016, 10:47:11 pm »
The last time I used Bitshares (ver. 0.9.3c) was on 11-22-2015. The next time I tried to use it, I had problems syncing the blockchain , so I never used it again.  I have a file called bts_keys.json with the same file date, so I think that is probably my exported wallet.

I want to import my old wallet into the current software, but I’m not sure which would be the easiest wallet to use and backup. I tried running bitshares2-light, but I get an error that says “Application initialization issues”.  If I go here: https://bitshares.openledger.info/# sometimes I get “Application initialization issues” too (Maybe because of latency – I have a satellite internet connection), but sometimes I am able to get to the account creation page. If I create an account there, will I be able to import my bitshares and NOTES balance from bts_keys.json. Are there instructions anywhere on how to do this? Would there be a better (i.e. easier) wallet choice for me? Thanks for any guidance.


Offline svk

Re: Which wallet to use and how to import from Bitshares 0.9.3c
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2016, 03:52:47 pm »
Yes you can import the json file and recover your accounts that way, but the wallet does require a decent internet connection to function properly as you've noticed.

NOTE is now on a different chain and is called MUSE.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline Black Arrow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Which wallet to use and how to import from Bitshares 0.9.3c
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2016, 11:08:20 pm »
Thanks. My internet download speed is pretty good but the only thing available to me is satellite and I have latency issues sometimes. So given that, is there a wallet that I would be able to use?

Offline cusknee

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
  • BitShares: cusknee
Re: Which wallet to use and how to import from Bitshares 0.9.3c
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2016, 11:28:29 pm »
Yes you can import the json file and recover your accounts that way, but the wallet does require a decent internet connection to function properly as you've noticed.

NOTE is now on a different chain and is called MUSE.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I have migrated over but I used to have note shares. If they are now called muse and are on another chain how do I access them?

Thanks

Offline Black Arrow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Which wallet to use and how to import from Bitshares 0.9.3c
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2016, 09:29:42 pm »
OK. I managed to get past the initialization issues error for the bitshares2-light wallet by repeatedly hitting retry until it worked. I created a new account in the light wallet and was able to receive some bitshares from Poloniex so that part works.  But I still can't figure out how to import from my old bitshares-x json file. I have been reading http://docs.bitshares.eu/bitshares/migration/howto-importing-wallet.html#cli-wallet, which looks very helpful but it talks about a Wallet Management Console, and I haven't been able to find it. Does anyone know how - is it still available?

Offline svk

Re: Which wallet to use and how to import from Bitshares 0.9.3c
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2016, 09:53:24 pm »
That part of the wallet has changed. Go to settings - restore backup. Select bitshares 0.9 backup in the drop down menu.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline Black Arrow

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Which wallet to use and how to import from Bitshares 0.9.3c
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2016, 11:52:59 pm »
Thanks a lot svk. That seemed to work fine. I wasn't able to locate the settings until I looked around and found the little symbol next to my account name.

I'm having initialization issues with the latest Muse binary, so I'll keep trying. But if I can get Muse to run, it looks like the same process should allow me to import my Muse holdings.