Author Topic: How Etheroll and other Dapps will kill Ethereum  (Read 2348 times)

Offline JoeyD

Isn't it possible to make changes to the infrastructure of bitcoin or eth? I know the decentralisation is pretty strong, but I wonder if Etherum can be changed in the future to work around f.ex. scalability issues? Sorry if my question is stupid, I'm just pretty new to bitcoin :)

I'm not a computer scientist so use appropriate amounts of salt with my comments. From what I understand there is a fundamentally different design at the base of bitcoin and bitshares (and other graphene based blockchains).

The difference seems to be mainly whereas bitcoin stores and processes operations on the network, bitshares deals with messages (the results of operations). The latter allows for the massive optimizations and speed (not using the inefficient blockchain for the slow stuff, but only for the absolutely essentials). It also allows for more complex stuff like order matching on the decentralized exchange, something that is apparently virtually impossible to do on both bitcoin and ethereum.

Ethereum uses a similar design with bitcoin, but with a lot more operations and complexity. While there probably are ways to massively improve bandwidth and tx/s, from what I understand most of those can be applied to bitcoin and because of it's simplicity it would always have higher bandwidth then ethereum using the same techniques.