Author Topic: Electrum for Memorycoin  (Read 10378 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
I would really like to see this wallet available for MMC https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.schildbach.wallet

I know, but I have to work on other things.

I will get to it sometime soon after P2Pool is started and XRamPool XPM is updated.

Offline robonix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
    • Auto Hackeate, Reprogramando el sustrato vital

Offline SlyWax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
On linux MMC electrum is installed as "electrum" command line.
So it seams that it will interfere with the original bitcoin electrum !?
( althoug the wallet is safe since it is named ending with MMC )

How about rename it ?

Offline splat44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
yes, there is a module missing. its here... not sure how to install it on windows though. BTChris?

https://pypi.python.org/pypi/setuptools

I agree we need to know how to install this in windows so setup from client does it job and without other missing things or other errors in process that is!
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 01:44:07 pm by splat44 »

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
yes, there is a module missing. its here... not sure how to install it on windows though. BTChris?

https://pypi.python.org/pypi/setuptools


Offline splat44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
ELECTRUM ON WINDOWS

1) open setup.py with text editor and change line 18 from
Code: [Select]
usr_share = '/usr/share'to
Code: [Select]
usr_share = 'C:\Users\<YOUR USER NAME>\AppData\Roaming\Electrum-MMC'
2) Download & install python

3) open cmd line and go to your electrum directory

4) Depending on where your python is installed, execute 
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\python.exe .\setup.py install
5) Download PyQT4 from http://www.riverbankcomputing.co.uk/software/pyqt/download
Select the correct PyQt4 Download based on your installed python version! 32 vs 64 Bit is based on your python version, not OS!

6) Install PyQt4; on "choose components" screen, select at least "Qt runtime" and "developer tools"

7) open cmd line and go to your electrum directory

8 ) Depending on where your python is installed, execute 
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\Lib\site-packages\PyQt4\pyrcc4.exe icons.qrc -o gui/qt/icons_rc.py
9) Start Electrum GUI with
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\python.exe .\electrum

I downloaded: https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum/archive/master.zip and extracted client in:
c:\electrum-master and I got following:

traceback (most recent call last):
File ".\setup.py", line 5 in <module>
from setuptools import setup
ImportError: No module named as setuptools

After checking directory where I extract file, I see no setuptool anywhere!


It possible that module is named as something else or it missing!
« Last Edit: April 01, 2014, 11:04:13 pm by splat44 »

Offline SlyWax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
On ubuntu I had a problem about : "Error: Could not import icons_rc.py, please generate it with: 'pyrcc4 icons.qrc -o gui/qt/icons_rc.py'"
So I had to create it and relaunch the setup install.

Here is how to do it :
You may have to install python-qt4 and pip:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install python-qt4 python-pip
cd to the directory where you unzipped the https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum/archive/master.zip
Code: [Select]
pyrcc4 icons.qrc -o gui/qt/icons_rc.py
sudo python setup.py install

Then type electrum to run it

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
First post has been updated with the Mac version, thanks s4l1h.

Offline s4l1h

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
« Last Edit: February 18, 2014, 04:03:10 am by s4l1h »

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Hi there. This sounds like a good idea.

How much bandwidth one needs to run this?  I have a spare dedicated server with 8 core, 24gb ram on 1GBIT line.

I might be able to set some nodes.

Not very much... just reliability. I think we are OK on nodes for right now though, so hold off.

Offline Banch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Hi there. This sounds like a good idea.

How much bandwidth one needs to run this?  I have a spare dedicated server with 8 core, 24gb ram on 1GBIT line.

I might be able to set some nodes.
Part of the Memorycoin 2.0 support team. Contacts in Finnish/English
MMC:MLAdfMX6LestwzuaQMyMFiGNrqM9qCS2Qf
LTC: LYdwtVfmaeCX8TyZ8etUBJfhithSxBATtc

Offline jernau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Quote
what does this part do? self.headers_url = 'http://xpool.xram.co/blockchain_headers.bin'

when i use the link in a browser it attempts a download, the websit it'self is a XPM pool

The domain itself is an XPM pool I run, but it also hosts a download for some preliminary blocks to be added to the client database, to speed sync.

Quote
Which library is responsible for that?

Maybe you can explore fdroid as an alternative to Google Play.

FDroid is an idea... but does it support python? That is the big barrier here.

 https://f-droid.org/wiki/page/FAQ_-_App_Developers

See above. I don't see an issue as long as the fdroid guys can compile from your source and you satisfy the licensing constraints. 

Sent from my GT-I5700 using Tapatalk 2

PTS: PgiEykg2RATYwWYhFtyNRqwSxQyEApLSmW

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Quote
'http://xpool.xram.co/blockchain_headers.bin'
Is this the same with bootstrap.dat ?
So you can load it with memorycoind -loadblock ?


no, its just a pregenerated file made by the servers which can be directly downloaded to the client to speed up the block header download.

bootstrap.dat? No, and you dont load it in memorycoind, it only works with the electrum wallet.

Offline toonces

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Quote
'http://xpool.xram.co/blockchain_headers.bin'
Is this the same with bootstrap.dat ?
So you can load it with memorycoind -loadblock ?