Author Topic: Alternative DNS White Paper  (Read 10790 times)

Offline GaltReport

I have only 1 question.  Is their anything in either approach to stop someone from using their greater wealth to silence someone or some opinion by outbidding them for their current well know website name and putting up some crap/contrary site?  That's my concern with the situation where you already have a .com site and want to have the same name in the new system.

Offline xman

• View Profile
As a webmaster, I will hesitate to use a domain name that will be out of my control. that is, might be taken away by competiter, or a richer person.

Offline xfund

• View Profile
    • FUND投票基金
  • BitShares: xfund
Domain holder must choose one from  the 123?

At this point the current domain holder may:

1)   Extend their lease at the higher market rate (this relinquishes the deposit back to the bidder)
2)   Hold the lease until the expiration date.  At this point the domain is relinquished to the higher bidder and the bidder takes over the lease with an initial term equal to the lease they bought out.
3)   "Sublease" the domain to the higher bidder at any time before the lease expiration.  Subleasing gives a profit to the original domain holder by the formula (higher_rate - rate_paid) * time_remaining_on_original_lease.  The new holder always takes over the domain with a lease term equal to the length of the lease they bought out.
Asset:FUND

Offline Method-X

• VIRAL
    • View Profile
    • Learn to code
  • BitShares: methodx
Quote from: gamey
Why won't companies just buy domains off-chain?  How often will auction system actually be used ?

This. Squatting is not a problem that needs solving. If I want a domain badly enough, I'll buy it off the squatter for market value.

Offline gamey

• View Profile

So much about this I don't get.  I wrote up a long list of concerns and somehow (my fault) lost them.