Author [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7  (Read 893 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline svk

0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« on: October 29, 2014, 05:24:35 PM »

I just installed the wallet on my Windows 7 64 partition and I get a strange error immediately after the splash screen:



I say strange because obviously there isn't another instance running.. Anyone seen this before? Anyone have a fix?

I tried uninstalling then re-installing, same thing. Oh and uninstalling just removed my wallet and all blockchain data with no warning, kind of annoying..
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline blahblah7up

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2014, 05:34:55 PM »
I had something similar but not exactly the same.

I tried to install v0.4.23 on a windows machine where no version of the client has ever been installed.  I didn't get the End User Agreement as is normally the case when installing new, but instead the program behaved as if I already had a wallet set up - asking me for my password.  I removed everything and tried v0.4.22 and everything worked as it should; first the End User Agreement, etc.

Offline svk

Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2014, 05:46:39 PM »
I had something similar but not exactly the same.

I tried to install v0.4.23 on a windows machine where no version of the client has ever been installed.  I didn't get the End User Agreement as is normally the case when installing new, but instead the program behaved as if I already had a wallet set up - asking me for my password.  I removed everything and tried v0.4.22 and everything worked as it should; first the End User Agreement, etc.

A fresh install of 0.4.22 gives me the exact same error as 0.4.23 :(
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline mira

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2014, 08:22:48 AM »
I'm getting this same error message on a Linux installation that was previously working.

Prior to receiving this message it needed to rebuild the database, but hung for so many hours I terminated.  After that trying to restart I get the message "An instance of BitShares X is already running!  Please close it and try again" as soon as it tries to rebuild the database.

Using command ps -ef shows no other instance running. 

Any suggestions of how to resolve?

Offline svk

Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2014, 08:36:59 AM »
Was resolved for me with v0.4.23.1, did you try that?

I never saw this on Linux though.
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline mira

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2014, 08:52:35 AM »
No, I haven't tried 4.23.1 yet.  This was the first time I'd compiled from source, and am not confident how to update.  Could you advise?  Or should I move this to the stupid questions thread....?

Offline svk

Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2014, 09:01:30 AM »
The instructions here work fine for me in Ubuntu, is that what you're using?

https://github.com/dacsunlimited/bitsharesx/blob/master/BUILD_UBUNTU.md

Are you trying to compile the client only or the GUI as well under linux?
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline mira

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2014, 09:04:29 AM »
I'm on linux mint 17.  Installed client and GUI.

So I just reinstall as before!  That seemed to simple to be true.   :)

Thank you!

Offline svk

Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #8 on: November 03, 2014, 09:07:21 AM »
I'm on linux mint 17.  Installed client and GUI.

So I just reinstall as before!  That seemed to simple to be true.   :)

Thank you!

Yea just delete the folder of the client that wasn't working, then reinstall as before but using the latest version :) Don't touch the .BitsharesX folder though cause that's where your wallet is.
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline mira

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2014, 10:29:31 AM »
Same error message after updating.  Will have to approach it fresh tomorrow  :-[

Offline mira

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2014, 10:00:03 PM »
So I failed to update to 4.23.1 - i had ended up with 4.22 again.  What step am I missing to update?

(but I did get rid of that error of another instance running)
« Last Edit: November 04, 2014, 10:03:00 PM by mira »

Offline fuzzy

Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #11 on: December 20, 2014, 08:28:53 PM »
I just installed the wallet on my Windows 7 64 partition and I get a strange error immediately after the splash screen:



I say strange because obviously there isn't another instance running.. Anyone seen this before? Anyone have a fix?

I tried uninstalling then re-installing, same thing. Oh and uninstalling just removed my wallet and all blockchain data with no warning, kind of annoying..

Actually having this same problem as we speak.  On the client 4.27.1
BROWNIE==DKP; BitShares is our Community! 
ShareBits Welcome to  the Sharing Economy w/ BeyondBitcoin.org Partners--ShareBits.io & OpenLedger.info
TIP FORMAT: #sharebits "ForumHandleInQuotes" Quanity Token_Name

Offline davidpbrown

Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2014, 09:11:13 PM »
This is a wild guess especially since I'm not on Windows but I see there is a LOCK file in the wallets/default .. or whatever name your wallet is. Oddly the instance that I had was from August.. size is 0 bits.. so I deleted it and restarted and it reappears.. what doesn't happen that I wonder should is that it gets removed on qt shutdown. So, perhaps that is causing more confusion in Windows.. since that kind of lock file existing can stop and confuse other programs tracking of its state.
฿://1CBxm54Ah5hiYxiUtD7JGYRXykT5Z6ZuMc

Offline dannotestein

Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #13 on: December 20, 2014, 09:31:21 PM »
As David Brown speculates, the problem is the Qt GUI client is detecting the existence of that lock file, which makes it think there is another copy of the program running. This lock file should be deleted when the program exits normally, but it can stay around if the client terminates improperly. The best way to eliminate this error is to delete the lock file, then launch the client again.
http://blocktrades.us Fast/Safe/High-Liquidity Crypto Coin Converter

Offline gamey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2253
    • View Profile
Re: 0.4.23: an instance of Bitshares already running WIN7
« Reply #14 on: December 23, 2014, 09:23:34 PM »
Yea this happened to me too.  This is windows 8.  Unfortunately there are lots of LOCK files.  So I am deleting all of them.  I run it again and I get the same error.  Task Manager has no Bitshares client running.  I know there was a bad shutdown that started this problem, then it crashed and I believe tried resetting the DB when it crashed again.  Now it won't try to reset the DB. :(

$ find . -name LOCK -print
./chain/index/account_db/LOCK
./chain/index/account_index_db/LOCK
./chain/index/address_to_account_db/LOCK
./chain/index/address_to_trx_db/LOCK
./chain/index/ask_db/LOCK
./chain/index/asset_db/LOCK
./chain/index/asset_proposal_db/LOCK
./chain/index/auth_db/LOCK
./chain/index/balance_db/LOCK
./chain/index/bid_db/LOCK
./chain/index/block_id_to_block_record_db/LOCK
./chain/index/burn_db/LOCK
./chain/index/collateral_db/LOCK
./chain/index/delegate_vote_index_db/LOCK
./chain/index/edge_index/LOCK
./chain/index/feed_db/LOCK
./chain/index/fork_db/LOCK
./chain/index/fork_number_db/LOCK
./chain/index/future_blocks_db/LOCK
./chain/index/id_to_transaction_record_db/LOCK
./chain/index/market_history_db/LOCK
./chain/index/market_status_db/LOCK
./chain/index/market_transactions_db/LOCK
./chain/index/object_db/LOCK
./chain/index/pending_transaction_db/LOCK
./chain/index/property_db/LOCK
./chain/index/relative_ask_db/LOCK
./chain/index/relative_bid_db/LOCK
./chain/index/reverse_edge_index/LOCK
./chain/index/short_db/LOCK
./chain/index/slate_db/LOCK
./chain/index/slot_record_db/LOCK
./chain/index/symbol_index_db/LOCK
./chain/index/undo_state_db/LOCK
./chain/raw_chain/block_id_to_block_data_db/LOCK
./chain/raw_chain/block_num_to_id_db/LOCK
./exceptions/LOCK
./mail_client/archive/LOCK
./mail_client/inbox/LOCK
./mail_client/processing/LOCK
./mail_client/properties/LOCK
./peers.leveldb/LOCK
I speak for myself and only myself.

 

Google+