Author [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: robohash discrepancies  (Read 598 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lovejoy

robohash discrepancies
« on: January 27, 2015, 03:28:05 AM »

I'm having disagreement between my wallet, bitsharesblocks, and the robohash.org website...
Some robohashes in my wallet are different than they used to be, and some are the same.
Many disagree with the robohash.org website altogether. I'm running this wallet on v0.5.3

What gives?

Here is one example:


In this case, the bottom one from bitsharesblocks is most familiar and my wallet displays one i've never before seen.

I no like. 
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 03:29:43 AM by bitscape »

lzr1900

  • Guest
Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2015, 03:29:43 AM »
I have the same problem as yours.

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12065
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BTS: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2015, 07:17:17 AM »
<- that thing changed over night :( should be violet and fat 8)

It's a link to robohash.org

edit:
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 07:36:09 AM by xeroc »
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline mira

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 135
    • View Profile
Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2015, 07:26:56 AM »
<- that thing changed over night :( should be violet and fat 8)

It's a link to robohash.org

^^I still see a violet and fat thing here by your forum name. ..?  When I type 'xeroc' in at robohash.org I see a white thing with yellow eyes.


In the client, my robohash has changed only on the account overview page, is the same old one on other pages...


Edit: Now it's changed. What is up with that!!
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 07:51:57 AM by mira »

Offline arhag

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1213
    • View Profile
    • My posts on Steem
  • BTS: arhag
  • GitHub: arhag
Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2015, 07:28:12 AM »
Aghhh, why are we still using robohash / SafeBots?

You should either make transactions with people explicitly added into your contacts / address book OR transactions with important information like the recipient (and perhaps memo) automatically filled out by clicking on a link on your computer.

The only time you should need to manually be absolutely sure you are dealing with the correct account name is when adding the contact to your address book and giving it an alias. And that is only when you can't have the contact addition be automatically done for you with mobile-to-mobile communication, meaning in situations when someone verbally told you their account name. And in situations where you verbally communicate your account name, are you really going to describe your SafeBot? A 3 digit checksum is far more practical for that purpose.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 07:30:10 AM by arhag »

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12065
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BTS: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2015, 07:37:41 AM »
A 3 digit checksum is far more practical for that purpose.
let's use a RS-code instead that allows to fix up to 2 typos per account name

Checkout NXT, they are doing it that way
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline arhag

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1213
    • View Profile
    • My posts on Steem
  • BTS: arhag
  • GitHub: arhag
Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2015, 07:42:59 AM »
A 3 digit checksum is far more practical for that purpose.
let's use a RS-code instead that allows to fix up to 2 typos per account name

Checkout NXT, they are doing it that way

Sure, whatever, sounds good. The point is that communicating your natural language compatible account name should be something rare. It should be reserved for exchanging contact info between people in person who don't have their smartphones handy (or don't want to bother to use it), or for people broadcasting their account name (similar to how people might announce their Twitter handle) over mediums in which some acceptable level of biometric authentication (voice and/or face) is possible, such as TV, radio, audio/video podcasts, etc. It shouldn't be used for any other situation.

Offline graffenwalder

Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2015, 11:12:59 AM »
Should a ticket be made at bter, to change their avatar on the deposit page?

Or should we wait until we find a solution to the changing avatar problem?

Edit:

Just made a ticket to give them a heads up
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 11:19:58 AM by graffenwalder »

Offline liondani

Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2015, 01:19:00 PM »
same problems with my wallet,  I have new robots faces now,  what a mess  >:(

Sent from my ALCATEL ONE TOUCH 997D

  https://bitshares.OPENLEDGER.info/?r=GREECE  | You are in Control | BUY | SELL | SHORT | SWAP | LOAN | TRADE |  

Offline svk

Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #9 on: January 27, 2015, 01:25:26 PM »
This could just be an issue with the wallet sending an incorrect string to robohash.org. My robot still matches but I haven't checked in the wallet. How about the robots on bitsharesblocks?

Just noticed the OP includes bitsharesblocks. Strange, I'll look into this some more once I get home. The wallet btw uses: http://robohash.org/set_1/robot_name while I believe I'm just using http://robohash.org/robot_name.

If you check http://robohash.org/set_1/media.bitscape it's the same one that's in the wallet.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 01:30:54 PM by svk »
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12065
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BTS: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #10 on: January 27, 2015, 01:30:36 PM »
This could just be an issue with the wallet sending an incorrect string to robohash.org. My robot still matches but I haven't checked in the wallet. How about the robots on bitsharesblocks?
Nop .. My avatar is a link to robohash that hasn't changed for weeks .. though the image changed .. it's definitely on the robohash.org side
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline svk

Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #11 on: January 27, 2015, 01:34:57 PM »
Think I found the issue on the bitsharesblocks end, I'm fetching http://robohash.org/dev.bitsharesblocks.png, I need to remove the .png and add /set_1/
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline svk

Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #12 on: January 27, 2015, 01:36:00 PM »
This could just be an issue with the wallet sending an incorrect string to robohash.org. My robot still matches but I haven't checked in the wallet. How about the robots on bitsharesblocks?
Nop .. My avatar is a link to robohash that hasn't changed for weeks .. though the image changed .. it's definitely on the robohash.org side

Looks like they changed the hashes for set_1 then, I'm pretty sure they used to be the same as the standard one because the robots on bitsharesblocks were the same as the ones in the wallet.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 01:39:22 PM by svk »
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline graffenwalder

Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #13 on: January 27, 2015, 02:05:15 PM »
Something strange going on now.
My profile pic is linked to robohash. But if you keep refreshing the page, it changes from the old to the new avatar, back and forth.

It only happens with the 150x150
http://robohash.org/set_1/graffenwalder?size=150x150
The 40x40 seems to stay the same
http://robohash.org/set_1/graffenwalder?size=40x40

Offline valzav

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 294
    • View Profile
Re: robohash discrepancies
« Reply #14 on: January 27, 2015, 02:08:25 PM »
yes, it looks like robohash.org has changed something on its side

 

Google+