Author [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Robot avatars changed, why is that?  (Read 902 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ripplexiaoshan

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2026
    • View Profile
  • BTS: xiaoshan
Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« on: January 27, 2015, 10:01:16 PM »

If it changes frequently, then what's the meaning of having this? It will be very confusing, especially for all the established recipients, like some exchanges' accounts.
BTS ID:xiaoshan                   www.yoyow.org      www.btsabc.org      www.openledger.info

Offline emski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1283
    • View Profile
    • http://lnkd.in/nPbhxG
Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2015, 10:08:15 PM »
Robohashes are controlled by a 3rd party website.
They may update it whenever they want and they do not need to notify anyone.

EDIT: Furthermore robohashes are extremely unreliable way of verification and IMHO it shouldn't be used. It might even allow for easier scams.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2015, 10:10:47 PM by emski »

Offline jsidhu

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1337
    • View Profile
Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2015, 01:14:13 AM »
Its open source it doesnt have to be 3rd party we can implement a local web service which will do the same thing and then we control wether it changes or not.
Hired by blockchain | Developer
delegate: dev.sidhujag

Offline matt608

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 878
    • View Profile
Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2015, 02:34:21 AM »
Decentralise the creation of images of robots ftw, it will revolutionise society.  Secure life, liberty, and robot pictures.
:p

Offline klosure

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2015, 03:06:45 AM »
If it changes frequently, then what's the meaning of having this? It will be very confusing, especially for all the established recipients, like some exchanges' accounts.
Established participants with something to lose out of being impersonated hould spare 5mn to personalize their avatar.

Offline abit

Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2015, 03:08:27 AM »
I thought we already embedded the source code into bts client.. Not?
BTS account: abit
BTS committee member: abit
BTS witness: in.abit

Offline theoretical

Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2015, 05:59:19 AM »
I thought we already embedded the source code into bts client.. Not?

I wanted to -- and even started working on it at one point -- but we ended up not doing this.
BTS- theoretical / PTS- PZxpdC8RqWsdU3pVJeobZY7JFKVPfNpy5z / BTC- 1NfGejohzoVGffAD1CnCRgo9vApjCU2viY / the delegate formerly known as drltc / Nothing said on these forums is intended to be legally binding / All opinions are my own unless otherwise noted / Take action due to my posts at your own risk

Offline gamey

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2253
    • View Profile
Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2015, 06:46:31 AM »
So everything was hitting this guys website?  That list of delegates with robohashes.... generated off this website?
I speak for myself and only myself.

Offline abit

Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2015, 07:09:58 AM »
So everything was hitting this guys website?  That list of delegates with robohashes.... generated off this website?
It seems to be true, by now.
BTS account: abit
BTS committee member: abit
BTS witness: in.abit

Offline svk

Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2015, 08:30:29 AM »
So everything was hitting this guys website?  That list of delegates with robohashes.... generated off this website?
It seems to be true, by now.

Yes, but it's a free service using CDNs to cache the robots so there's no issue with that imo. Maybe at a scale of hundreds of thousands of users we would put too much strain on them, but as it is I doubt they even noticed.
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline liondani

Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2015, 10:06:09 AM »
I thought we already embedded the source code into bts client.. Not?

I wanted to -- and even started working on it at one point -- but we ended up not doing this.

so which one will do it now?
  https://bitshares.OPENLEDGER.info/?r=GREECE  | You are in Control | BUY | SELL | SHORT | SWAP | LOAN | TRADE |  

Offline cylon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #11 on: January 28, 2015, 01:09:32 PM »
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hN-JpAyEPko

BTS: cylon

Offline CLains

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2610
    • View Profile
  • BTS: clains
Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #12 on: January 28, 2015, 04:38:22 PM »
I like mine better now. +5%
Vote for BTS-2 witness: spectral (1.6.30)

Follow https://steemit.com/@clains

Offline jamesc

Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2015, 12:00:09 AM »
We could just host the robohash script.  I think that's the easiest thing to do provided there's already a good server to use.

Offline kokojie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
  • Witness: kokojie
  • Payrate: 3%
Re: Robot avatars changed, why is that?
« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2015, 08:35:47 PM »
What's the point of robot avatar anyway, the account name is already unique enough. Also this avatar apparently haven't stopped people from sending money to scam accounts such as "bter". I think it makes the client look childish and amateur tbh. It doesn't fit the overall theme of the client as a serious professional exchange.

 

Google+