Author [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback  (Read 2324 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline vikram

BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« on: April 21, 2015, 01:17:04 AM »

https://github.com/BitShares/bitshares/releases/tag/bts%2F0.9.0-rc1

For those who are willing to help test and find any serious problems before the final release.

Offline clayop

Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2015, 02:04:40 AM »
Not a serious problem. Blockchain order history in market does not show timestamp. "NaN"
Bitshares Korea - http://www.bitshares.kr
Vote for me and see Korean Bitshares community grows
delegate-clayop

Offline nomoreheroes7

Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2015, 02:26:21 AM »
Snappy blockchain replay. Snappy interface. Fixed my active key not being regenerated issue. Zero crashes.

Absolutely awesome.  +5%

Offline roadscape

Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2015, 02:36:57 AM »
Right after the replay, BitShares encountered an exception. I relaunched it and got another:

Code: [Select]
Process:               BitShares [4396]
Path:                  /Applications/BitShares.app/Contents/MacOS/BitShares
Identifier:            org.bitshares.BitShares
Version:               .. (..)
Code Type:             X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process:        ??? [1]
Responsible:           BitShares [4396]

Date/Time:             2015-04-20 21:30:07.859 -0500
OS Version:            Mac OS X 10.10.2
Report Version:        11

Crashed Thread:        0  Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type:        EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes:       KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000000000000058

VM Regions Near 0x58:
-->
    __TEXT                 00000001040b4000-0000000105ed6000 [ 30.1M] r-x/rwx SM=COW  /Applications/BitShares.app/Contents/MacOS/BitShares

Thread 0 Crashed:: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0   org.qt-project.QtCore          0x0000000109e6fc3e QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) + 62
1   org.qt-project.QtNetwork      0x0000000109b4e2cc QNetworkReply::downloadProgress(long long, long long) + 76
2   org.qt-project.QtNetwork      0x0000000109ac8770 QNetworkReplyHttpImplPrivate::replyDownloadData(QByteArray) + 1280
3   org.qt-project.QtNetwork      0x0000000109b4ead4 QNetworkReplyHttpImpl::qt_static_metacall(QObject*, QMetaObject::Call, int, void**) + 1828
4   org.qt-project.QtCore          0x0000000109e69393 QObject::event(QEvent*) + 755
5   org.qt-project.QtWidgets      0x000000010686932b QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper(QObject*, QEvent*) + 251
6   org.qt-project.QtWidgets      0x000000010686c648 QApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) + 8136
7   org.bitshares.BitShares        0x00000001040ebc6e BitSharesApp::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) + 14
8   org.qt-project.QtCore          0x0000000109e3ea5b QCoreApplicationPrivate::sendPostedEvents(QObject*, int, QThreadData*) + 971

Now I launched it for the third time, no problems logging in! A fleeting bug of some sort. On to more testing...
http://cryptofresh.com  |  witness: roadscape

Offline roadscape

Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2015, 03:01:35 AM »
Overall slick! Here's what I found in the GUI on OSX:

Exchange page
 - MPA and UIA tables are not populated

Market page
 - Price graphs are not showing in 'Flipped' mode
 - Price graph scrolls on its own when my cursor hovers over it
 - 'Volume' and '24hr Low/High/Change' in the upper pane all read 0 but 'Latest/Call Price' is fine
 - The 'Short Sell' and 'Margin Call' tables also get stuck to my cursor. The Buy/Sell tables don't seem to exhibit this behavior

Suggestions for 1280 x 800 display

 - Can the price graph be shrunk vertically by 25% or so? I can't see the whole depth graph without scrolling.
 - Can the Order History pane be widened a little? It requires horizontal scrolling and feels a bit cramped, especially in 'My Order History'

Also, I restarted the client and got another exception. I launched it once more and it runs fine again.

ninja edit:
I like the new graphs.. big improvement! Especially with the 'All-time' view which seems to work now! The issue I mentioned above needs to be resolved so I can get the full graph experience. Also, are tooltips in the price graph gone now, or is that a bug?
« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 03:13:57 AM by roadscape »
http://cryptofresh.com  |  witness: roadscape

Offline Riverhead

Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #5 on: April 21, 2015, 03:26:35 AM »

Torrents aren't seeded currently. Once downloaded I"ll seed all three .torrents until the next release.

Offline robrigo

Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2015, 04:06:20 AM »
Right after the replay, BitShares encountered an exception. I relaunched it and got another:

Code: [Select]
Process:               BitShares [4396]
Path:                  /Applications/BitShares.app/Contents/MacOS/BitShares
Identifier:            org.bitshares.BitShares
Version:               .. (..)
Code Type:             X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process:        ??? [1]
Responsible:           BitShares [4396]

Date/Time:             2015-04-20 21:30:07.859 -0500
OS Version:            Mac OS X 10.10.2
Report Version:        11

Crashed Thread:        0  Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread

Exception Type:        EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes:       KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000000000000058

VM Regions Near 0x58:
-->
    __TEXT                 00000001040b4000-0000000105ed6000 [ 30.1M] r-x/rwx SM=COW  /Applications/BitShares.app/Contents/MacOS/BitShares

Thread 0 Crashed:: Dispatch queue: com.apple.main-thread
0   org.qt-project.QtCore          0x0000000109e6fc3e QMetaObject::activate(QObject*, int, int, void**) + 62
1   org.qt-project.QtNetwork      0x0000000109b4e2cc QNetworkReply::downloadProgress(long long, long long) + 76
2   org.qt-project.QtNetwork      0x0000000109ac8770 QNetworkReplyHttpImplPrivate::replyDownloadData(QByteArray) + 1280
3   org.qt-project.QtNetwork      0x0000000109b4ead4 QNetworkReplyHttpImpl::qt_static_metacall(QObject*, QMetaObject::Call, int, void**) + 1828
4   org.qt-project.QtCore          0x0000000109e69393 QObject::event(QEvent*) + 755
5   org.qt-project.QtWidgets      0x000000010686932b QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper(QObject*, QEvent*) + 251
6   org.qt-project.QtWidgets      0x000000010686c648 QApplication::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) + 8136
7   org.bitshares.BitShares        0x00000001040ebc6e BitSharesApp::notify(QObject*, QEvent*) + 14
8   org.qt-project.QtCore          0x0000000109e3ea5b QCoreApplicationPrivate::sendPostedEvents(QObject*, int, QThreadData*) + 971

Now I launched it for the third time, no problems logging in! A fleeting bug of some sort. On to more testing...

I had a similar experience. Crashed 3-4 times then made it through the replay to the login screen.

On the login screen, unlocking the wallet causes the program to hang at the loader. Wiping the app data and resetting the chain ended in a crashing scenario like above which eventually resolves but then the hanging issue happens.

OS X isn't stable but it sounds like this release is more stable for Windows users. That's a good sign at least.

edit: let it hang logging for about 10 minutes and it eventually authed me.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 04:51:12 AM by robrigo »

Offline jz831

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
    • Customized ASIC Controllers
Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #7 on: April 21, 2015, 04:27:02 AM »
What are we to do with the "include" folder in the .dmg?
https://metaexchange.info | Bitcoin<->Altcoin exchange | Instant | Safe | Low spreads

Online abit

Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #8 on: April 21, 2015, 05:52:58 AM »
edit: let it hang logging for about 10 minutes and it eventually authed me.
Looks like it's re-scaning the wallet (for transactions).
BTS account: abit
BTS committee member: abit
BTS witness: in.abit

lzr1900

  • Guest
Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #9 on: April 21, 2015, 07:10:54 AM »
What are we to do with the "include" folder in the .dmg?
same question.

Offline svk

Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2015, 07:21:30 AM »
Overall slick! Here's what I found in the GUI on OSX:

Exchange page
 - MPA and UIA tables are not populated

Market page
 - Price graphs are not showing in 'Flipped' mode
 - Price graph scrolls on its own when my cursor hovers over it
 - 'Volume' and '24hr Low/High/Change' in the upper pane all read 0 but 'Latest/Call Price' is fine
 - The 'Short Sell' and 'Margin Call' tables also get stuck to my cursor. The Buy/Sell tables don't seem to exhibit this behavior

Suggestions for 1280 x 800 display

 - Can the price graph be shrunk vertically by 25% or so? I can't see the whole depth graph without scrolling.
 - Can the Order History pane be widened a little? It requires horizontal scrolling and feels a bit cramped, especially in 'My Order History'

Also, I restarted the client and got another exception. I launched it once more and it runs fine again.

ninja edit:
I like the new graphs.. big improvement! Especially with the 'All-time' view which seems to work now! The issue I mentioned above needs to be resolved so I can get the full graph experience. Also, are tooltips in the price graph gone now, or is that a bug?

It's always surprising to see the number of bugs that just appear out of nowhere on release! :)

I'll have a look once I get home. Any values not showing are most likely related to changes in the backend client API, I only tested it with 0.8.1 and there's been some changes since.

The price graph has data for 1 year now which is why the all time view "works" as you say. The tooltip should be displayed in text inside the graph window, no moving tooltip.

You have a pretty low resolution screen but I'll have a look if there's anything to be done.

Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline onceuponatime

Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2015, 07:48:15 AM »
I've downloaded the 0.9.0-RC1 on my Windows 7 test machine and am having numerous problems.

It crashed several times and froze and had to be closed several times, but finally it loaded and synced.

But there are 21 accounts at the Dashboard page, 19 of them not mine! Some of them appear to be accounts that I sent 0.5BTS to when I was sending to newbies to register. Others, I have no idea, and they aren't registered.

And now the client says "Severe network problems" and is not syncing even though on my main machine with the 0.8.0 version there is no network problem.

Shut down and restarted again, twice. Same thing. "Severe network problems", not syncing, and still al the extra accounts at Dashboard.

I can't get to the console for information because the 21 accounts go below the page, and I can't scroll down past them to "Advanced".
« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 07:50:31 AM by onceuponatime »

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12242
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BTS: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2015, 07:52:33 AM »
I've downloaded the 0.9.0-RC1 on my Windows 7 test machine and am having numerous problems.

It crashed several times and froze and had to be closed several times, but finally it loaded and synced.

But there are 21 accounts at the Dashboard page, 19 of them not mine! Some of them appear to be accounts that I sent 0.5BTS to when I was sending to newbies to register. Others, I have no idea, and they aren't registered.

And now the client says "Severe network problems" and is not syncing even though on my main machine with the 0.8.0 version there is no network problem.

Shut down and restarted again, twice. Same thing. "Severe network problems", not syncing, and still al the extra accounts at Dashboard.

I can't get to the console for information because the 21 accounts go below the page, and I can't scroll down past them to "Advanced".
Can you try the "bitshares_client.exe" that is packed with the GUI executable .. it should be the CLI version and help you sync with the network
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline onceuponatime

Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #13 on: April 21, 2015, 08:03:28 AM »
I've downloaded the 0.9.0-RC1 on my Windows 7 test machine and am having numerous problems.

It crashed several times and froze and had to be closed several times, but finally it loaded and synced.

But there are 21 accounts at the Dashboard page, 19 of them not mine! Some of them appear to be accounts that I sent 0.5BTS to when I was sending to newbies to register. Others, I have no idea, and they aren't registered.

And now the client says "Severe network problems" and is not syncing even though on my main machine with the 0.8.0 version there is no network problem.

Shut down and restarted again, twice. Same thing. "Severe network problems", not syncing, and still al the extra accounts at Dashboard.

I can't get to the console for information because the 21 accounts go below the page, and I can't scroll down past them to "Advanced".
Can you try the "bitshares_client.exe" that is packed with the GUI executable .. it should be the CLI version and help you sync with the network

Where do I find that?

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12242
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BTS: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: BitShares 0.9.0-RC1 Feedback
« Reply #14 on: April 21, 2015, 09:53:40 AM »
Where do I find that?
Is it not in the install path? I am not sure it's packed with the GUI :/
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

 

Google+