Author [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Fix for corrupted wallet.dat and client crash issues and No Block source  (Read 5613 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline barwizi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Noirbits, NoirShares, NoirEx.....lol, noir anyone?
    • View Profile
    • Noirbitstalk.org

For those with corrupt wallet.dat

1) create a folder named protoalt and keep it's path in mind
2)Copy all the files except your wallet.dat into the new folder
3) Create a .bat to start the alternate you have created
3)start your client with -salvagewallet, this does exactly that.
4) once your wallet is recovered, start the alternate client, it will create a new wallet for you.
5) send coins to new wallet and use it as main one now.

Note: it's advisable to keep a copy of all your wallet.dat files in secure seperate storage in case of data corruption.

For those with Client start issues

Try starting your client with -reindex in console. this will reindex the blocks on your hdd and then connect to the network to sync.

Mac os /Applications/ProtoShares-Qt-0.2.0.app/Contents/MacOS/ProtoShares-Qt -reindex
Windows -- /yourpath/protoshares-qt.exe -reindex

No Block source

Make sure you have the updated wallet which has hard coded seed nodes

if it is still not connected go to the debug window and
Code: [Select]
addnode 162.243.197.231 add and
Code: [Select]
addnode cryptoseed.cloudapp.net:80 add
Code: [Select]
addnode q39.protoshar.es add
« Last Edit: January 16, 2014, 04:47:03 PM by barwizi »
--Bar--  PiNEJGUv4AZVZkLuF6hV4xwbYTRp5etWWJ

The magical land of crypto, no freebies people.

Offline toast

Thanks! Pinned.
Do not use this post as information for making any important decisions. The only agreements I ever make are informal and non-binding. Take the same precautions as when dealing with a compromised account, scammer, sockpuppet, etc.

Offline ripplexiaoshan

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1954
    • View Profile
  • BTS: xiaoshan
If addnode doesn't solve your "no block source"problem (sometimes firewall setting results in it), you can use the new version wallet(window version), suggested by Bytemaster in https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php?topic=355.60

It has nodes embedded, and proved functional by many people (no exception yet).
 
http://the-iland.net/static/downloads/ProtoShares-0.4.0.zip
BTS ID:xiaoshan                   www.btsabc.org

Offline satnamsidhu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
nothing works for me i  delete the protoshare folder and re extract the protoshare qt files , add all nodes in console, also checked firewall, but still the error in "No Block source ". help

Offline barwizi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Noirbits, NoirShares, NoirEx.....lol, noir anyone?
    • View Profile
    • Noirbitstalk.org
nothing works for me i  delete the protoshare folder and re extract the protoshare qt files , add all nodes in console, also checked firewall, but still the error in "No Block source ". help

if you have the latest version and have tried all the addnodes. It stands to reason that it is a firewall. Please do a clean install, temporarily turn off your firewall (5 minutes should do) and tell me if there is a change.
--Bar--  PiNEJGUv4AZVZkLuF6hV4xwbYTRp5etWWJ

The magical land of crypto, no freebies people.

Offline zvs

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 193
    • View Profile
addnode 162.243.197.231 add

is not the most efficient way to go about it

you would use

addnode 162.243.197.231 onetry

if it doesn't work, then it isnt likely to work any time soon
Pls to join Primedice 3 and frolic about merrily whilst gambling awe-inspiring quantities of bitcoins. The power of Christ compels you.

I have a dogecoin p2pool at Nogleg.

Offline lib

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 243
  • liberty
    • View Profile
Here is my way to resolve "Error reloading block database. Do you want to rebuild the block database now?" when starting mac client(it will always failed when you click yes and quit when no). Hope its useful for someone in the same situation.

Before you take any action to fix the problem, BACKUP YOUR WALLET!

1. start the client with command line" ProtoShares-Qt -reindex".

2. after reindexing, "no block source" for 1 hour, so i found some node from this thread(https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php?topic=355.0).

its useful:help->debug->console and input commands:
addnode 61.238.157.8 add
addnode 54.254.192.95 add
addnode 54.207.21.146 add
addnode 54.206.30.227 add
addnode 54.219.164.14 add
addnode 146.185.172.136 add
addnode 162.243.14.13 add
addnode 5.9.24.81 add
addnode 23.92.25.118 add
Forum Donation: PforumPLfVQXTi4QpQqKwoChXHkoHcxGuA
Personal Address: PakhuBkqTu4oTHJ4ZffvzVwCGCMfuqazgm

Offline 5chdn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 487
  • i wonder how many chars i can put in this field 50
    • View Profile
    • Votesapp
  • GitHub: 5chdn
PTS seednode: q39.protoshar.es

Offline barwizi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Noirbits, NoirShares, NoirEx.....lol, noir anyone?
    • View Profile
    • Noirbitstalk.org
modifying the top post to reflect the current situation
--Bar--  PiNEJGUv4AZVZkLuF6hV4xwbYTRp5etWWJ

The magical land of crypto, no freebies people.


Offline KhabsCat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Fix for corrupted wallet.dat and client crash issues and No Block source
« Reply #10 on: February 10, 2014, 01:38:19 AM »
So I created a shortcut for the wallet and added "-connect=crptoseed.cloudapp.net:80" and this worked fine and I received a few shares. But now it is saying "no block source available" and I don't think I changed anything. What gives? I could really use some help here.

Offline toast

Re: Fix for corrupted wallet.dat and client crash issues and No Block source
« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2014, 02:28:04 AM »
So I created a shortcut for the wallet and added "-connect=crptoseed.cloudapp.net:80" and this worked fine and I received a few shares. But now it is saying "no block source available" and I don't think I changed anything. What gives? I could really use some help here.

try this:
https://bitsharestalk.org/index.php?topic=912.0
Do not use this post as information for making any important decisions. The only agreements I ever make are informal and non-binding. Take the same precautions as when dealing with a compromised account, scammer, sockpuppet, etc.

Offline KhabsCat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Fix for corrupted wallet.dat and client crash issues and No Block source
« Reply #12 on: February 10, 2014, 03:17:21 AM »
It's working now. Thanks for the quick reply.

Offline zavtra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Fix for corrupted wallet.dat and client crash issues and No Block source
« Reply #13 on: February 26, 2014, 04:18:57 PM »
The new fix for the crashing wallet for those who have the Bitshares-PTS wallet on Mac OS is now:

/Applications/BitShares-PTS.app/Contents/MacOS/BitShares-PTS -reindex
« Last Edit: February 26, 2014, 04:27:54 PM by zavtra »

Offline danielauhlig

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Hi firstly I have no tech ability so I hope for patience.

I bought Pt shares last year and just bought a few more had them sent to my wallet however wallet no blocksource availble and 11 weeks behind its not downloading. Please advise what i need to do.

 

Google+