Author Topic: Electrum for Memorycoin  (Read 17433 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
I would really like to see this wallet available for MMC https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=de.schildbach.wallet

I know, but I have to work on other things.

I will get to it sometime soon after P2Pool is started and XRamPool XPM is updated.

Offline robonix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
    • View Profile
    • Auto Hackeate, Reprogramando el sustrato vital

Offline SlyWax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
On linux MMC electrum is installed as "electrum" command line.
So it seams that it will interfere with the original bitcoin electrum !?
( althoug the wallet is safe since it is named ending with MMC )

How about rename it ?

Offline splat44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
yes, there is a module missing. its here... not sure how to install it on windows though. BTChris?

https://pypi.python.org/pypi/setuptools

I agree we need to know how to install this in windows so setup from client does it job and without other missing things or other errors in process that is!
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 01:44:07 pm by splat44 »

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
yes, there is a module missing. its here... not sure how to install it on windows though. BTChris?

https://pypi.python.org/pypi/setuptools


Offline splat44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
ELECTRUM ON WINDOWS

1) open setup.py with text editor and change line 18 from
Code: [Select]
usr_share = '/usr/share'to
Code: [Select]
usr_share = 'C:\Users\<YOUR USER NAME>\AppData\Roaming\Electrum-MMC'
2) Download & install python

3) open cmd line and go to your electrum directory

4) Depending on where your python is installed, execute 
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\python.exe .\setup.py install
5) Download PyQT4 from http://www.riverbankcomputing.co.uk/software/pyqt/download
Select the correct PyQt4 Download based on your installed python version! 32 vs 64 Bit is based on your python version, not OS!

6) Install PyQt4; on "choose components" screen, select at least "Qt runtime" and "developer tools"

7) open cmd line and go to your electrum directory

8 ) Depending on where your python is installed, execute 
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\Lib\site-packages\PyQt4\pyrcc4.exe icons.qrc -o gui/qt/icons_rc.py
9) Start Electrum GUI with
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\python.exe .\electrum

I downloaded: https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum/archive/master.zip and extracted client in:
c:\electrum-master and I got following:

traceback (most recent call last):
File ".\setup.py", line 5 in <module>
from setuptools import setup
ImportError: No module named as setuptools

After checking directory where I extract file, I see no setuptool anywhere!


It possible that module is named as something else or it missing!
« Last Edit: April 01, 2014, 11:04:13 pm by splat44 »

Offline SlyWax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
On ubuntu I had a problem about : "Error: Could not import icons_rc.py, please generate it with: 'pyrcc4 icons.qrc -o gui/qt/icons_rc.py'"
So I had to create it and relaunch the setup install.

Here is how to do it :
You may have to install python-qt4 and pip:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install python-qt4 python-pip
cd to the directory where you unzipped the https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum/archive/master.zip
Code: [Select]
pyrcc4 icons.qrc -o gui/qt/icons_rc.py
sudo python setup.py install

Then type electrum to run it

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
First post has been updated with the Mac version, thanks s4l1h.

Offline s4l1h

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
« Last Edit: February 18, 2014, 04:03:10 am by s4l1h »

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Hi there. This sounds like a good idea.

How much bandwidth one needs to run this?  I have a spare dedicated server with 8 core, 24gb ram on 1GBIT line.

I might be able to set some nodes.

Not very much... just reliability. I think we are OK on nodes for right now though, so hold off.

Offline Banch

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Hi there. This sounds like a good idea.

How much bandwidth one needs to run this?  I have a spare dedicated server with 8 core, 24gb ram on 1GBIT line.

I might be able to set some nodes.
Part of the Memorycoin 2.0 support team. Contacts in Finnish/English
MMC:MLAdfMX6LestwzuaQMyMFiGNrqM9qCS2Qf
LTC: LYdwtVfmaeCX8TyZ8etUBJfhithSxBATtc

Offline jernau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Quote
what does this part do? self.headers_url = 'http://xpool.xram.co/blockchain_headers.bin'

when i use the link in a browser it attempts a download, the websit it'self is a XPM pool

The domain itself is an XPM pool I run, but it also hosts a download for some preliminary blocks to be added to the client database, to speed sync.

Quote
Which library is responsible for that?

Maybe you can explore fdroid as an alternative to Google Play.

FDroid is an idea... but does it support python? That is the big barrier here.

 https://f-droid.org/wiki/page/FAQ_-_App_Developers

See above. I don't see an issue as long as the fdroid guys can compile from your source and you satisfy the licensing constraints. 

Sent from my GT-I5700 using Tapatalk 2

PTS: PgiEykg2RATYwWYhFtyNRqwSxQyEApLSmW

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Quote
'http://xpool.xram.co/blockchain_headers.bin'
Is this the same with bootstrap.dat ?
So you can load it with memorycoind -loadblock ?


no, its just a pregenerated file made by the servers which can be directly downloaded to the client to speed up the block header download.

bootstrap.dat? No, and you dont load it in memorycoind, it only works with the electrum wallet.

Offline toonces

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Quote
'http://xpool.xram.co/blockchain_headers.bin'
Is this the same with bootstrap.dat ?
So you can load it with memorycoind -loadblock ?

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Quote
what does this part do? self.headers_url = 'http://xpool.xram.co/blockchain_headers.bin'

when i use the link in a browser it attempts a download, the websit it'self is a XPM pool

The domain itself is an XPM pool I run, but it also hosts a download for some preliminary blocks to be added to the client database, to speed sync.

Quote
Which library is responsible for that?

Maybe you can explore fdroid as an alternative to Google Play.

FDroid is an idea... but does it support python? That is the big barrier here.

Offline jernau

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Hey, is it possible if someone with a little technical background, after getting this to work, could use the py2exe application (http://py2exe.org/) to simplify all this into a single, standalone executabe? Like they have on the original electrum download page.

This is a great idea. Is there a similar packager for the Mac?

Also the install for Android looks very daunting. Is it achievable in theory to package everything required into a single .adt - or even distribute through the Play store?

For Mac, Yep, I believe it says I'm the package description on the front of the package repository.

Android install depends on a library Google does not allow on the play store, so no.

Which library is responsible for that?

Maybe you can explore fdroid as an alternative to Google Play.

Sent from my GT-I5700 using Tapatalk 2

PTS: PgiEykg2RATYwWYhFtyNRqwSxQyEApLSmW

Offline barwizi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Noirbits, NoirShares, NoirEx.....lol, noir anyone?
    • View Profile
    • Noirbitstalk.org
Hey, is it possible if someone with a little technical background, after getting this to work, could use the py2exe application (http://py2exe.org/) to simplify all this into a single, standalone executabe? Like they have on the original electrum download page.

This is a great idea. Is there a similar packager for the Mac?

Also the install for Android looks very daunting. Is it achievable in theory to package everything required into a single .adt - or even distribute through the Play store?

For Mac, Yep, I believe it says I'm the package description on the front of the package repository.

Android install depends on a library Google does not allow on the play store, so no.

what does this part do? self.headers_url = 'http://xpool.xram.co/blockchain_headers.bin'

when i use the link in a browser it attempts a download, the websit it'self is a XPM pool
--Bar--  PiNEJGUv4AZVZkLuF6hV4xwbYTRp5etWWJ

The magical land of crypto, no freebies people.

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Hey, is it possible if someone with a little technical background, after getting this to work, could use the py2exe application (http://py2exe.org/) to simplify all this into a single, standalone executabe? Like they have on the original electrum download page.

This is a great idea. Is there a similar packager for the Mac?

Also the install for Android looks very daunting. Is it achievable in theory to package everything required into a single .adt - or even distribute through the Play store?

For Mac, Yep, I believe it says I'm the package description on the front of the package repository.

Android install depends on a library Google does not allow on the play store, so no.

Offline FreeTrade

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 700
    • View Profile
Hey, is it possible if someone with a little technical background, after getting this to work, could use the py2exe application (http://py2exe.org/) to simplify all this into a single, standalone executabe? Like they have on the original electrum download page.

This is a great idea. Is there a similar packager for the Mac?

Also the install for Android looks very daunting. Is it achievable in theory to package everything required into a single .adt - or even distribute through the Play store?
“People should be more sophisticated? How are you gonna get that done?” - Jerry Seinfeld reply to Bill Maher

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
I will be back home (traveling at the moment) Friday or Saturday night - as soon as I am back I will setup a shared hosting account at Go Daddy and if I am able to get it working well - I can setup about 15 more.   

Does it matter what host name I use?  I have a few domains  that I really dont care much about that I can donate to the cause if host-name is not important.


Thanks,

Brian aer

15 nodes? The original Electrum network only has 8 or so... :)

Wow, that is... unbelievable.

The hostname is not important, just so long as the hosting is reliable.

Offline bgaer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
I will be back home (traveling at the moment) Friday or Saturday night - as soon as I am back I will setup a shared hosting account at Go Daddy and if I am able to get it working well - I can setup about 15 more.   

Does it matter what host name I use?  I have a few domains  that I really dont care much about that I can donate to the cause if host-name is not important.


Thanks,

Brian aer

Offline Armchair Miner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
This sounds excellent. You're way ahead of me, I don't even have a bitcoin offline wallet!

So far electrum seems the easiest way to create offline wallets. Another site I looked at (for bitcoin offline wallet) couldn't even run with less than X Gbyte of memory.

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
ELECTRUM ON WINDOWS

1) open setup.py with text editor and change line 18 from
Code: [Select]
usr_share = '/usr/share'to
Code: [Select]
usr_share = 'C:\Users\<YOUR USER NAME>\AppData\Roaming\Electrum-MMC'
2) Download & install python

3) open cmd line and go to your electrum directory

4) Depending on where your python is installed, execute 
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\python.exe .\setup.py install
5) Download PyQT4 from http://www.riverbankcomputing.co.uk/software/pyqt/download
Select the correct PyQt4 Download based on your installed python version! 32 vs 64 Bit is based on your python version, not OS!

6) Install PyQt4; on "choose components" screen, select at least "Qt runtime" and "developer tools"

7) open cmd line and go to your electrum directory

8 ) Depending on where your python is installed, execute 
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\Lib\site-packages\PyQt4\pyrcc4.exe icons.qrc -o gui/qt/icons_rc.py
9) Start Electrum GUI with
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\python.exe .\electrum

Hey, is it possible if someone with a little technical background, after getting this to work, could use the py2exe application (http://py2exe.org/) to simplify all this into a single, standalone executabe? Like they have on the original electrum download page.

I will hold off on updating the instructions until we know for sure.

Thanks BTChris for the detailed instructions, which I am not good at :)

Offline BTChris

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
ELECTRUM ON WINDOWS

1) open setup.py with text editor and change line 18 from
Code: [Select]
usr_share = '/usr/share'to
Code: [Select]
usr_share = 'C:\Users\<YOUR USER NAME>\AppData\Roaming\Electrum-MMC'
2) Download & install python

3) open cmd line and go to your electrum directory

4) Depending on where your python is installed, execute 
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\python.exe .\setup.py install
5) Download PyQT4 from http://www.riverbankcomputing.co.uk/software/pyqt/download
Select the correct PyQt4 Download based on your installed python version! 32 vs 64 Bit is based on your python version, not OS!

6) Install PyQt4; on "choose components" screen, select at least "Qt runtime" and "developer tools"

7) open cmd line and go to your electrum directory

8 ) Depending on where your python is installed, execute 
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\Lib\site-packages\PyQt4\pyrcc4.exe icons.qrc -o gui/qt/icons_rc.py
9) Start Electrum GUI with
Code: [Select]
C:\Python27\python.exe .\electrum

emre

  • Guest
can anyone confirm that it is working?

I am using it, working like a charm.

thanks KB,

we have 5 nodes right now, please considering your spare servers for additional electrum nodes.

Offline barwizi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Noirbits, NoirShares, NoirEx.....lol, noir anyone?
    • View Profile
    • Noirbitstalk.org
can anyone confirm that it is working?
--Bar--  PiNEJGUv4AZVZkLuF6hV4xwbYTRp5etWWJ

The magical land of crypto, no freebies people.

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
what are the suggested specs for a host machine?   I work for a major hosting company - so I get a very steep discount.  If it can run in a shared hosting environment its about $1 a month for high end shared hosting. 

Virtual and Dedicated are a bit more costly - but depending on bandwidth I am pretty sure I can get it to happen.

Just let me know what type of hardware/bandwidth is required - if it will run on a shared server I can spin up a few of them pretty quick.

Biran

all that is needed is to run the memorycoind daemon and a little bit of patience to set up really, all that it does is indexes all transactions and passes data along to the electrum clients.

just so long as you have a static IP and basic bandwidth (I have tested 1gb/s), you could run the server easily.

ALSO...

Default servers have been updated. Please update your clients. Your wallet money should not be impacted in any way

Offline bgaer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
what are the suggested specs for a host machine?   I work for a major hosting company - so I get a very steep discount.  If it can run in a shared hosting environment its about $1 a month for high end shared hosting. 

Virtual and Dedicated are a bit more costly - but depending on bandwidth I am pretty sure I can get it to happen.

Just let me know what type of hardware/bandwidth is required - if it will run on a shared server I can spin up a few of them pretty quick.

Biran

Offline FreeTrade

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 700
    • View Profile
Yes, I'm very excited about it! I'm going to try it on Windows. :) Thanks KB, really excellent start to your CNOship!
“People should be more sophisticated? How are you gonna get that done?” - Jerry Seinfeld reply to Bill Maher

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Thanks reorder!

At long last, we should have new nodes coming into existance for the wallet software hopefully by tomorrow. Emre has graciously provided 2 additional nodes, and BTChris has mentioned he will run a server node as well.

Nobody has reported any problems, which is good. The 2 nodes I run have been unbelievably stable. Free Trade unfortunately has not given the wallet a try yet, but I am sure he will give it some publicity eventually.

Offline reorder

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 400
    • View Profile
By far the best that was ever done for the coin. Voted my first time.

Offline itsik78

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 297
    • View Profile
Great job!!!
These are the things that could raise our coin's value.
I'll test it and start releasing some posts about it.

Offline ManeBjorn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
If I had a motherboard for my AMD Phenom X4 9750 I would do it.  The mainboard blew a couple weeks ago so I am down to my laptop.  I don't have the money to replace the MB right now.


Glad to hear people like it!

...but seriously, servers are needed. The instructions are on the first post.
Tips Appreciated MMC | MQotia5NmKTsaXXPaN8hw2ze3Z1DNwi39s
https://www.multibet.io/index.php?ref=ManeBjorn

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Glad to hear people like it!

...but seriously, servers are needed. The instructions are on the first post.

Offline ManeBjorn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 174
    • View Profile
Excellent work!
 :)
Tips Appreciated MMC | MQotia5NmKTsaXXPaN8hw2ze3Z1DNwi39s
https://www.multibet.io/index.php?ref=ManeBjorn

Offline s4l1h

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile

Offline KillerByte

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 298
    • View Profile
Ths has never been done by any other cryptocurrency community before...

...and here it is!

That is right! Electrum (https://electrum.org/), a popular Bitcoin thin client, has been ported for Memorycoin! It is ultra secure, lightweight (no blockchain download), and user-friendly. It can be used as an offline wallet. I have been using it as my offline wallet!

DOWNLOAD:

Electrum Client: https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum/archive/master.zip
Electrum Server: https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum-server/archive/master.zip

MAC (curtosy of s4l1h:

http://www.memorycoin.org/downloads/electrum-mmc-macosx.dmg

GITHUB SOURCE:

Electrum Client: https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum
Electrum Server: https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum-server

If you would like to use electrum, all you need is the electrum client

Getting Started Tutorials: https://electrum.org/tutorials.html

Let me know of any problems on this thread

To run an electrum server, see the howto guide: https://github.com/KillerByte/electrum-server/blob/master/HOWTO.md

I have done my best to update documentation appropriately

Let me know of any problems.
« Last Edit: March 10, 2014, 01:20:55 pm by KillerByte »