Author [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] [EN] [ZH] [ES] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [TR] [SR] [AR] [RU] Topic: Delegate upgrade question  (Read 330 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kokojie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
  • Witness: kokojie
  • Payrate: 3%
Delegate upgrade question
« on: August 27, 2014, 03:45:16 PM »

When I upgrade to new version of the client as a delegate, do I have to first turn off block production? when block production is turned off, then I don't miss blocks right?

Offline emski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1283
    • View Profile
    • http://lnkd.in/nPbhxG
Re: Delegate upgrade question
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2014, 03:54:01 PM »
You need to make sure only one instance has blocks production turned on.
When you are ready with the next version open it and wait for it to establish network connections and synchronize the blockchain (make sure block production is not enabled).
Then see that you have sufficient time until your slot and shutdown the old instance and enable block production in the new one.

Offline kokojie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
  • Witness: kokojie
  • Payrate: 3%
Re: Delegate upgrade question
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2014, 04:07:29 PM »
You need to make sure only one instance has blocks production turned on.
When you are ready with the next version open it and wait for it to establish network connections and synchronize the blockchain (make sure block production is not enabled).
Then see that you have sufficient time until your slot and shutdown the old instance and enable block production in the new one.

You are saying I need to install at two machines? and when upgrading switch back and forth between the two?

Offline svk

Re: Delegate upgrade question
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2014, 04:12:35 PM »
I do it like this:

1. Open a new terminal
2. Git clone latest version to new folder bitsharesx_v0.x.x
3. git checkout 0.x.x + submodule init+update + cmake . + make bitshares_client
4. Once compilation is done, return to still running instance of the client and do "getinfo"
5. Pick a time when there's 10+ minutes till my next block production time, then:
6. Shut down old client, start new client
7. wallet_open + wallet_unlock
8. Do getinfo to verify block_production is enabled
Worker: dev.bitsharesblocks

Offline kokojie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
  • Witness: kokojie
  • Payrate: 3%
Re: Delegate upgrade question
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2014, 04:21:06 PM »
I do it like this:

1. Open a new terminal
2. Git clone latest version to new folder bitsharesx_v0.x.x
3. git checkout 0.x.x + submodule init+update + cmake . + make bitshares_client
4. Once compilation is done, return to still running instance of the client and do "getinfo"
5. Pick a time when there's 10+ minutes till my next block production time, then:
6. Shut down old client, start new client
7. wallet_open + wallet_unlock
8. Do getinfo to verify block_production is enabled

Cool, thanks.

Offline emski

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1283
    • View Profile
    • http://lnkd.in/nPbhxG
Re: Delegate upgrade question
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2014, 04:54:30 PM »
You need to make sure only one instance has blocks production turned on.
When you are ready with the next version open it and wait for it to establish network connections and synchronize the blockchain (make sure block production is not enabled).
Then see that you have sufficient time until your slot and shutdown the old instance and enable block production in the new one.

You are saying I need to install at two machines? and when upgrading switch back and forth between the two?
no. Instance means client Instance. Not another machine.

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12339
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BTS: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: Delegate upgrade question
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2014, 06:07:20 PM »
BTW: missing a block is not as bad as producing two different blocks with the same delegate because you have two wallets open at the same time!!
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

 

Google+