Author Topic: Follow My Vote Press Release!  (Read 6729 times)

Offline modprobe

• You say you will utilize mobile devices as they have the best security models. My first thought was "W00T?", really? I mean I am not very good at evaluating smart phones regarding their security, but I have the subject feeling that my phone is the device where I have least control over it, regarding security.
  • You say it is possible for voters to revoke votes in case they notice something went wrong. Is that a technical solution, like revokation certificates in PGP? Or is that simple the possibility to go to voting officials and state that something went wrong. Couldn't that be abused?

For question 1, karnal's response is dead-on. Yes, we can make a far more secure system on a desktop computer, but with much, much lower convenience. In terms of balancing security and convenience, mobile does a great job. Obviously nothing's perfect, but mobile has pretty rigorous security by default while desktop does not.

For question 2, this is a technical solution by which the voter publishes a nullifying vote to the chain (which serves as notice to vote counters that the identity's previous or future votes should be ignored). When they arrive at the central polling place, they provide that TXID and the poll workers publish to the chain an acceptance of that nullifying vote and give the voter a paper ballot to vote on. If the voter attempts to use that same identity to cast a second paper ballot, the poll workers will observe that the nullified vote has already been accepted and will refuse to issue a second paper ballot.

Offline btswolf

@Slick Willy When are you going to put FMV Token to the chain so we can trade it?
When will you connect your alpha/beta... Voting Software to the chain?

Offline karnal

• View Profile
Full report: https://webrootsdemocracy.files.wordpress.com/2016/01/secure-voting-webroots-democracy.pdf

Just read the report. Two questions: