Author Topic: Hypothetical Discussion: DDOS Attack by a Wealthy Adversary  (Read 1463 times)

Offline btswill

• View Profile
After having several great discussions with @fav on the Discord #general channel, I thought it would be nice to repost the discussion here and see if anyone else would like to provide their commentary on this rather academic discussion.

will-Yesterday at 10:24 PM
so I am new to Bitshares and I am reading the wiki currently and I have a couple questions: But let me preface these two questions by saying, -- i think the system is very well designed and I am impressed with the foresight to use economic incentives to help bootstrap the security of the system. As long the system is built so that rational behavior, on the part of the delegates, will further strengthen the system AND irrational behavior cannot subvert the system -- then it seems like the BitShares is system is by far the superior blockchain.

Now my two questions:

1) continuing on your argument about it costing $35 per second to flood the system. That means it would cost a little over 1 billion USD to flood the network for an entire year ((60secs x 60 minutes x 24 hours x 365 days x $35 per second to flood the network)). I would argue that a DDOS that locked up the network for an entire year would spell the end of the BitShares blockchain (I dont think it would even take an entire year). And banking corporations in the US alone have a significant amount of money to lose (10's of billions per year), so what is to stop these corporations from factoring in a long-term DDOS attack on the BitShares network as a cost of doing business if it only costs ~ $1.2 billion per year to stay in business.

2) other than "persuading others to upvote your node" -- is there any other requirement for being a delegate? I guess what I am getting at is, how is the system protected from a Sybil attack?