Author Topic: [RESOLVED] Missing 30K - Help troubleshoot this.  (Read 6624 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bytemaster

There is a scalability issue with having many TITAN receive addresses because you must check every transaction against all keys and the cryptographic operation is expensive.  So BTER should have 1 account that they receive with.   

We have guidelines available for exchanges, but I need to find where the guys published it.   
For the latest updates checkout my blog: http://bytemaster.bitshares.org
Anything said on these forums does not constitute an intent to create a legal obligation or contract between myself and anyone else.   These are merely my opinions and I reserve the right to change them at any time.

Offline bitmeat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • View Profile
I think that we need to update the UI in the following way:

1) clear pending transactions should only hide the transactions (not remove them from the wallet)
2) When scanning the blockchain, we need to pick up transactions that are outgoing even if we lost information about who they were sent to... TITAN makes rescanning to restore history harder because it is just that private.

3) The balance shown for your account is based upon known spendable outputs and is the "true" balance after a rescan.   We are working to make sure the ledger accurately explains the true balance.

I see. Yes, even if it shows "lost encrypted transaction info" it's better than having discrepancies, which can be very confusing.

Also - and more concerning - there is a missing transaction in the ledger on the receiving side. I actually am not worried about my transactions missing, so long as he received them. I'm just trying to help here.

I'm thinking how would someone like BTER handle that? Will they just have receiving address, without an account name? Can they create unregistered receiving addresses - one per account, so that even if the tx info is lost, they still get the deposits?

Offline bytemaster

I think that we need to update the UI in the following way:

1) clear pending transactions should only hide the transactions (not remove them from the wallet)
2) When scanning the blockchain, we need to pick up transactions that are outgoing even if we lost information about who they were sent to... TITAN makes rescanning to restore history harder because it is just that private.

3) The balance shown for your account is based upon known spendable outputs and is the "true" balance after a rescan.   We are working to make sure the ledger accurately explains the true balance.

For the latest updates checkout my blog: http://bytemaster.bitshares.org
Anything said on these forums does not constitute an intent to create a legal obligation or contract between myself and anyone else.   These are merely my opinions and I reserve the right to change them at any time.

Offline Simeon II

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
    • View Profile
Here is what is going on:

He has received all transactions, but when you "re-scan" you do not detect outgoing transactions. 

So when you cleared pending transactions you deleted your knowledge of those transactions from your wallet.   His transaction record is accurate, your balance is accurate, but your transaction record is missing those 2 transactions.

No it was not. Only the balance in the account (the total) was.
It is accurate now though, ~12 h later.

Offline bitmeat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • View Profile
Here is what is going on:

He has received all transactions, but when you "re-scan" you do not detect outgoing transactions. 

So when you cleared pending transactions you deleted your knowledge of those transactions from your wallet.   His transaction record is accurate, your balance is accurate, but your transaction record is missing those 2 transactions.

Are you saying that unless I keep my local hard drive safe, I have no way of ever reconstructing the missing transactions in the ledger?

I mean if I export my wallet, then some transactions occur, then my hard drive dies , will I be able to re-create my account from scratch from that older wallet?
(This happened to me by the way and I lost 400 PTS during donation period, because I thought Qt PTS used the same change address, so my backup didn't work). I also hope your change addresses are deterministic.


Offline bytemaster

Here is what is going on:

He has received all transactions, but when you "re-scan" you do not detect outgoing transactions. 

So when you cleared pending transactions you deleted your knowledge of those transactions from your wallet.   His transaction record is accurate, your balance is accurate, but your transaction record is missing those 2 transactions.
For the latest updates checkout my blog: http://bytemaster.bitshares.org
Anything said on these forums does not constitute an intent to create a legal obligation or contract between myself and anyone else.   These are merely my opinions and I reserve the right to change them at any time.

Offline bitmeat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • View Profile



Have you done a wallet_account_balance in the console to see if it's just a UI bug?

It's not just a UI bug, if you look at the post above there is a dump from wallet_account_transaction_history in the console.

Offline bitmeat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • View Profile
1) Did you put a memo in every transaction?   ie: can I assume those should be unique?

I've sent the 2nd batch twice with the same memo, because I thought it didn't send, so I canceled pending and resent. However I had network issues at the time, I restarted the client, which by the way always crashes on Windows, and not sure if some vital piece didn't get written where it needs to. However the receiver has all the funds.

He is missing one transaction in the ledger, and I am missing 2 in mine. What I want to know is how does the number at the top of the UI get computer, where do I find it in the command line. And more importantly why is the ledger not reconstructed from the network on rescan?

Offline Riverhead




Have you done a wallet_account_balance in the console to see if it's just a UI bug?

Offline bytemaster

1) Did you put a memo in every transaction?   ie: can I assume those should be unique?
For the latest updates checkout my blog: http://bytemaster.bitshares.org
Anything said on these forums does not constitute an intent to create a legal obligation or contract between myself and anyone else.   These are merely my opinions and I reserve the right to change them at any time.

Offline bitmeat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • View Profile
Hey there... you can imagine we all have our hands full right now, but we certainly want to help you solve it.

Right. I'm actually mostly concerned that this could get a lot of people in trouble. Especially when this goes to exchanges. I think it should be somewhat higher priority.

Yes, I can imagine your hands are more than full, and it's Sunday. And you've done a great job. But I think this is more important than discussing how delegates work.

Offline bytemaster

Hey there... you can imagine we all have our hands full right now, but we certainly want to help you solve it. 
For the latest updates checkout my blog: http://bytemaster.bitshares.org
Anything said on these forums does not constitute an intent to create a legal obligation or contract between myself and anyone else.   These are merely my opinions and I reserve the right to change them at any time.

Offline bitmeat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • View Profile
Bump! Come on Invictus guys! I'm willing to work with you to solve this.

toast was the only one who even attempted looking at this. I would like an official word from someone who gets what's going on. I've provided logs and dumps to toast.


Offline bitmeat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1116
    • View Profile
Ok so the story is as goes. I was trying to send 180K in chunks to another user. 2 of the transactions were showing as pending for me, and I cleared the pending transactions, rescanned/restarted/etc. so they disappeared, and I "had" my balance again.

So when I do from the console I get only the following transactions between me and lowfee-10prcnt (2 transactions missing one for 10K and one for 20K):

Code: [Select]
2014-07-20T02:31:59 8169      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      1.00000 BTSX            ensuring it works.                          0.10000 BTSX        a0da271
2014-07-20T02:37:40 8202      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      10,000.00000 BTSX       1st batch                                   0.10000 BTSX        41a6c3e
2014-07-20T02:54:15 8302      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      10,000.00000 BTSX       2nd batch                                   0.10000 BTSX        7e638b1
2014-07-20T03:28:21 8499      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      20,000.00000 BTSX       3rd batch                                   0.10000 BTSX        524dba1
2014-07-20T03:31:09 8515      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      20,000.00000 BTSX       4th batch                                   0.10000 BTSX        1af8cea
2014-07-20T03:57:48 8661      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      30,000.00000 BTSX       5th batch                                   0.10000 BTSX        baff8cc
2014-07-20T04:26:56 8830      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      20,000.00000 BTSX       6th batch                                   0.10000 BTSX        6eb27a0

On his side he has:

Code: [Select]
2014-07-20T02:33:17 8169      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      1.00000 BTSX            ensuring it works.                          0.00000 BTSX        a0da271
2014-07-20T02:37:35 8202      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      10,000.00000 BTSX       1st batch                                   0.00000 BTSX        41a6c3e
2014-07-20T02:53:10 8284      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      10,000.00000 BTSX       2nd batch                                   0.00000 BTSX        244f2da  <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
2014-07-20T02:53:10 8294      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      20,000.00000 BTSX                                                   0.00000 BTSX        8f4cea8  <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
2014-07-20T02:54:14 8302      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      10,000.00000 BTSX       2nd batch                                   0.00000 BTSX        7e638b1
2014-07-20T03:28:24 8499      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      20,000.00000 BTSX       3rd batch                                   0.00000 BTSX        524dba1
2014-07-20T03:31:04 8515      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      20,000.00000 BTSX       4th batch                                   0.00000 BTSX        1af8cea
2014-07-20T03:57:44 8661      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      30,000.00000 BTSX       5th batch                                   0.00000 BTSX        baff8cc
2014-07-20T04:26:55 8830      krabbypatty         lowfee-10prcnt      20,000.00000 BTSX       6th batch                                   0.00000 BTSX        6eb27a0

How do I reconcile my account to actually acknowledge that?

It says I have X amount, when I try to move X amount to another account it says insufficient funds and that I have X - 30K available BTSX. Clearly the system knows this happened, but it doesn't reflect it in my account.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2014, 12:43:24 am by happypatty »