Author Topic: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu  (Read 27435 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

jakub

  • Guest
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #30 on: January 20, 2016, 08:22:26 pm »
[member=120]xeroc[/member]
What is the meaning of the number 10 here?
Code: [Select]
--genesis-timestamp 10
Could it be a different number or does it have to be 10?

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12722
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #31 on: January 20, 2016, 08:26:55 pm »
[member=120]xeroc[/member]
What is the meaning of the number 10 here?
Code: [Select]
--genesis-timestamp 10
Could it be a different number or does it have to be 10?
can be anything any positiv number .. it sets the timestamp of the genesisblock at now()+x
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

jakub

  • Guest
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #32 on: January 20, 2016, 08:37:34 pm »
This note is unclear to me:
Quote
Unless no other witness produces blocks and witness participation is high enough, subsequent runs which connect to an existing witness node over the p2p network, or which get blockchain state from an existing data directory, need not have the --enable-stale-production flag.

Does it mean that if I have a private testnet on a single computer, I need to use this flag at all times when I run the witness node or just for the very first run of the witness node when the first block gets produced?

Also you effectively say that if the witness participation is high enough I need this flag to be on - which makes little sense to me. Shouldn't it be the other way round?
« Last Edit: January 20, 2016, 08:39:57 pm by jakub »

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12722
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #33 on: January 20, 2016, 09:13:21 pm »
This note is unclear to me:
Quote
Unless no other witness produces blocks and witness participation is high enough, subsequent runs which connect to an existing witness node over the p2p network, or which get blockchain state from an existing data directory, need not have the --enable-stale-production flag.

Does it mean that if I have a private testnet on a single computer, I need to use this flag at all times when I run the witness node or just for the very first run of the witness node when the first block gets produced?

Yes .. this flag ensures that blocks are generated even if the
blockchain has been stuck due to a server crash or something similar

Quote
Also you effectively say that if the witness participation is
high enough I need this flag to be on - which makes little sense
to me. Shouldn't it be the other way round?
Woops .. double negation
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline betax

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 808
    • View Profile
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #34 on: January 21, 2016, 01:35:37 pm »
Any chance of using another port for the web sockets? I requested and unblocked the testnet.bitshares.eu from a generic corporate proxy. But port 11011 is not use.

https://metaexchange.info | Bitcoin<->Altcoin exchange | Instant | Safe | Low spreads

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12722
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #35 on: January 21, 2016, 01:44:06 pm »
Any chance of using another port for the web sockets? I requested and unblocked the testnet.bitshares.eu from a generic corporate proxy. But port 11011 is not use.
what port do you prefer?
Maybe I can even setup a proxy redirect similar to openledger and have it accessible via /ws
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline betax

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 808
    • View Profile
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #36 on: January 22, 2016, 03:30:42 pm »
OpenLedger works behind the corporate firewall, so that would be good :)
https://metaexchange.info | Bitcoin<->Altcoin exchange | Instant | Safe | Low spreads

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12722
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #37 on: January 22, 2016, 03:32:08 pm »
Ok .. I'll try to work this one out ..

//edit: fixed it .. if you refresh it should probably use another connection URL (ending with /ws) .. otherwise you can put this url into your connection manually:
http://testnet.bitshares.eu/ws
« Last Edit: January 22, 2016, 03:43:06 pm by xeroc »
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12722
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #38 on: January 25, 2016, 09:32:26 am »
So 
I learned something in the progress of launching a graphene chain...

Namely to read the given documentation carefully. It turns out that I made a mistake when launching the chains such that I cannot provide you a genesis file that you can use to build your own witness node for that network ..
I fixed the documentation accordingly:  https://github.com/BitSharesEurope/docs.bitshares.eu/commit/830a3e0bbfd2a8a126220b0ed80f4c7adeae1260

Since I want others to join block production in the test network, I need to restart the network from scratch

Fortunatelly, it is not so old, not many accounts have been created and certainly no one managed to run a witness node against the test network. With test network 2, thing can only get better :)



I just figured this out, fixed the documentation and have the genesis.json added to the repo. Everyone compiling from
https://github.com/BitSharesEurope/graphene-testnet
should be able to connect to the seed node. I will add the default seed node stuff today

https://github.com/BitSharesEurope/graphene-testnet/commit/94f0a95be6f80cb5a7926ba6cc920dd795eb3a19
« Last Edit: January 25, 2016, 09:47:07 am by xeroc »
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

jakub

  • Guest
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #39 on: January 26, 2016, 04:49:04 pm »
I just figured this out, fixed the documentation and have the genesis.json added to the repo. Everyone compiling from
https://github.com/BitSharesEurope/graphene-testnet
should be able to connect to the seed node. I will add the default seed node stuff today

https://github.com/BitSharesEurope/graphene-testnet/commit/94f0a95be6f80cb5a7926ba6cc920dd795eb3a19

[member=120]xeroc[/member]
Does it mean you've managed to re-launch the testnet without changing its id?
Code: [Select]
39f5e2ede1f8bc1a3a54a7914414e3779e33193f1f5693510e73cb7a87617447

Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12722
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #40 on: January 26, 2016, 04:57:57 pm »
I have not relaunched the testnet ..
I just figured out what needs to be done to have the default repository be able to connect to the testnet ..

The issues I had have been that anytime I tried to connect my witnesses to the seed node, the chain id was wrong ... and the reason was that I didn't include the genesis file properly ..
that is all now done and documented in the tutorial

give it a try.. if you recompile the latest master cleanly .. you should autoconnect to the seed node and the testnetwork
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH

Offline hrossik

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #41 on: January 28, 2016, 02:21:38 pm »
I've been trying to build graphene from source on ubuntu 15.10 and am stuck at this point of the documentation:

Quote
To actually run cmake we now need the following parameters:
Code: [Select]
cmake -DCMAKE_PREFIX_PATH="$QT_ROOT" -DCMAKE_MODULE_PATH="$QT_ROOT/lib/cmake/Qt5Core" -DQT_QMAKE_EXECUTABLE="$QT_ROOT/bin/qmake" -DBUILD_QT_GUI=TRUE \
      -DGRAPHENE_EGENESIS_JSON="$GENESIS_JSON" -DBOOST_ROOT="$BOOST_ROOT" -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Debug .

It says "CMake Error: The source directory "/home/***/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.5.0" does not appear to contain CMakeLists.txt." Is it correct to try this line in the /home/***/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.5.0 directory?

Anybody knows what the problem is?

Edit: Ahh, I see, it's probably configuration of cmake for building graphene.. so it should be executed in graphene folder.. right?
« Last Edit: January 28, 2016, 03:34:29 pm by hrossik »
BTS: hr0550

jakub

  • Guest
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #42 on: January 28, 2016, 05:05:04 pm »
[member=120]xeroc[/member]
After compiling from your testnet repository, when I try to run the witness node (without any parameters):
Code: [Select]
witness_node
I get this:
Code: [Select]
2499229ms th_a       witness.cpp:86                plugin_initialize    ] witness plugin:  plugin_initialize() begin
2499231ms th_a       witness.cpp:96                plugin_initialize    ] key_id_to_wif_pair: ["TEST6MRyAjQq8ud7hVNYcfnVPJqcVpscN5So8BhtHuGYqET5GDW5CV","5KQwrPbwdL6PhXujxW37FSSQZ1Jiws
ST4cqQzDeyXtP79zkvFD3"]
2499234ms th_a       witness.cpp:114               plugin_initialize    ] witness plugin:  plugin_initialize() end
2499236ms th_a       object_database.cpp:91        open                 ] Opening object database from D:/Program Files/BitShares 2/bin64t/witness_node_data_dir/blockchain ...
2499273ms th_a       object_database.cpp:97        open                 ] Done opening object database.
2499275ms th_a       thread.cpp:95                 thread               ] name:ntp tid:388
2499276ms th_a       thread.cpp:95                 thread               ] name:p2p tid:412
2499366ms ntp        ntp.cpp:177                   read_loop            ] ntp_delta_time updated to 229455 us
2499375ms th_a       application.cpp:144           reset_p2p_node       ] Adding seed node 46.101.188.80:11010
2499377ms th_a       application.cpp:155           reset_p2p_node       ] Configured p2p node to listen on 0.0.0.0:54055
2499380ms th_a       witness.cpp:119               plugin_startup       ] witness plugin:  plugin_startup() begin
2499381ms th_a       witness.cpp:136               plugin_startup       ] No witnesses configured! Please add witness IDs and private keys to configuration.
2499383ms th_a       witness.cpp:137               plugin_startup       ] witness plugin:  plugin_startup() end
2499384ms th_a       main.cpp:176                  main                 ] Started witness node on a chain with 0 blocks.
2499385ms th_a       main.cpp:177                  main                 ] Chain ID is 1f3e7fde05994c55443606e2c4186f6e7943d2333c6db139c42031eff1d19a38

... and it gets stuck at this point.

The chain ID is clearly different than it should be:
I have:
Code: [Select]
1f3e7fde05994c55443606e2c4186f6e7943d2333c6db139c42031eff1d19a38instead of this which I got :
Code: [Select]
39f5e2ede1f8bc1a3a54a7914414e3779e33193f1f5693510e73cb7a87617447which I believe is the testnet's blockchain id.

I did not modify the genesis.json file or add any seed nodes. Should I?

----------------------------------------------

EDIT: After further investigation, I've come to the conclusion that this problem stems from the genesis.json file:
When I download the repository from graphene-testnet as a zip file and use the genesis.json file extracted from the zip, everything works fine and I get the correct blockchain id (i.e. compatible with the testnet).
However when I clone the repository from graphene-testnet and use the genesis.json file from the cloned copy, I get some strange blockchain id (i.e. incompatible with the testnet).

I've checked it several times, so there is very little chance that I've made a mistake.
It's very strange, as there is no apparent difference between the content of those files.
But this might be some Windows-related issue.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2016, 11:30:14 pm by jakub »

jakub

  • Guest
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #43 on: January 28, 2016, 08:28:38 pm »
What is the reason all newly created accounts on the testnet have committee-account as their proxy?
Is it a bug?


Offline xeroc

  • Board Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12722
  • ChainSquad GmbH
    • View Profile
    • ChainSquad GmbH
  • BitShares: xeroc
  • GitHub: xeroc
Re: [Public Testnet] testnet.bitshares.eu
« Reply #44 on: January 29, 2016, 08:46:12 am »
I've been trying to build graphene from source on ubuntu 15.10 and am stuck at this point of the documentation:

Quote
To actually run cmake we now need the following parameters:
Code: [Select]
cmake -DCMAKE_PREFIX_PATH="$QT_ROOT" -DCMAKE_MODULE_PATH="$QT_ROOT/lib/cmake/Qt5Core" -DQT_QMAKE_EXECUTABLE="$QT_ROOT/bin/qmake" -DBUILD_QT_GUI=TRUE \
      -DGRAPHENE_EGENESIS_JSON="$GENESIS_JSON" -DBOOST_ROOT="$BOOST_ROOT" -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Debug .

It says "CMake Error: The source directory "/home/***/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.5.0" does not appear to contain CMakeLists.txt." Is it correct to try this line in the /home/***/qt-everywhere-opensource-src-5.5.0 directory?

Anybody knows what the problem is?

Edit: Ahh, I see, it's probably configuration of cmake for building graphene.. so it should be executed in graphene folder.. right?
The QT part has been abandoned.
Use this tutorial instead:
http://docs.bitshares.eu/bitshares/installation/Build.html
Give BitShares a try! Use the http://testnet.bitshares.eu provided by http://bitshares.eu powered by ChainSquad GmbH