Author Topic: Dan Larimer - Your thoughts on what's happening to Bitcoin right now  (Read 18729 times)

Offline lakerta06

I just want to add my two bits on the tax issue, with a real world example.

Disclaimer: I am not a tax expert.

Any gamer here knows or heard about diablo3 and its in game market I think. And it also had the real money option. You could buy/sell game items for real money or in game gold.

There were lots of bots, scanning the market and placing buy/sell orders for in game gold. With the aim of increasing their total in game gold, so they can sell it for real money.

To my knowledge, there is not a case of taxation for "in game gold/in game item" trades. So why should BitAsset/BTSX trades be taxable? (Unless BTSX counts as "money")

Then again, I am no tax expert.

Offline tonyk

• View Profile
Interesting. Maybe I am just pessimistic, but I find it hard to believe the IRS will look at BitAssets in this way.